Reading guide for The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Gracekeepers

by Kirsty Logan

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan X
The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    May 2015, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. In The Gracekeepers, Kirsty Logan has conjured a world rich in magic and strangeness. Land is scarce, landlockers revere the few remaining trees, paper—like the ruffles on Red Gold's shirt—is wildly expensive, and damplings must wear bells when they roam the land. What was your favorite image from this book's unique and powerful world? What were your first impressions of the novel?
  2. Both Callanish and North have secrets, both physical and emotional, that they hide from the world. What are they, and how do they affect the choices they make as characters? Why do you think North and Callanish keep their secrets for so long?
  3. In their world, Callanish and North are defined by their respective roles as gracekeeper and bear- girl. In your opinion, how much control do they have over their lives? Are there benefits to either of their lifestyles and, if so, what are they
  4. The restings performed by the gracekeepers are part of a rich cultural tradition to bury and honor the dead. Describe a few of these rituals—in what ways are they similar to or different from those you've practiced in your own lives?
  5. Despite the danger, North sleeps beside her bear and puts herself at risk caring for him. Were you surprised by the depth of North's feelings for him? Why do you think he played such an emotionally central role in her life?
  6. The Excalibur is not only a traveling circus but, also, a family with complex relationships and a ship's crew. What roles do each of the performers play in their small community? Which relationships most intrigued you?
  7. The glamours and the clowns play a special function within the circus: both are provocative acts that entice, and incite, the audience. What tools do they use to tap into people's emotions?
  8. Land and sea, male and female, dampling and landlocker —duality is ever-present in the novel. What do you think the author is exploring here?
  9. Like most damplings, Melia and Whitby revere the ocean. Red Gold and Avalon revere the land, as do most landlockers. Which appealed to you the most and why?
  10. North is reluctant to share the story of her pregnancy because, even for the world of landlockers and damplings, it's rather fantastic. What did you take away from her telling of it? Did you believe her?
  11. When Callanish and North first meet, they confide in each other very quickly. What do you think prompts this sudden intimacy?
  12. Both Callanish's and North's lives are defined by loss. Is this true for the other inhabitants of their world?
  13. How does Kirsty Logan define the concept of "family" throughout The Gracekeepers? What does it mean to North and Callanish?
  14. Callanish has never forgiven herself for what happened to her mother. How does she attempt to atone, and do you think she succeeds?
  15. The theme of searching runs throughout the novel. Do you think North, Callanish, and the other characters find what they're looking for? Aside from Callanish and North, which characters did you most wish happiness for throughout the novel?
  16. When Callanish first meets North, she says, "I haven't slept a full night since I got here. It's hard to let go. It's not safe." Flitch warns Callanish, ?Little fish . . . you're always like this. Always picking holes in things. If you're not careful, it'll all come unravelled." What do you think Callanish and Flitch mean by these comments? Who is "safe" in their world? What could ?unravel"? In what ways do Callanish and North find safety by the book's end?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Crown. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  A Period of Mourning

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.