Reading guide for The Girl Next Door by Ruth Rendell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Girl Next Door

A Novel

by Ruth Rendell

The Girl Next Door by Ruth Rendell X
The Girl Next Door by Ruth Rendell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2014, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2015, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. "In those days you had to get married. There were no two ways about it" (p. 1). In part, The Girl Next Door is an investigation of traditional marriage—its rewards, its obligations, and the ways couples are viewed by others. Compare and contrast several of the unions portrayed in the novel, including Anita and John Winwood, Rosemary and Alan Norris, Michael and Vivien Winwood, Freya and David, and Stanley and Helen Batchelor. What does each partner provide the other? In what ways do these marriages improve or stymie the characters' lives?
  2. What is the significance of setting the characters' childhood in World War II? How does the specter of the war overshadow the novel?
  3. Rendell introduces us to two murderous characters in John Winwood, whose killings open the novel, and Rosemary Norris, an unlikely assassin. Contrast John Winwood's murders and their aftermath with Rosemary's attack on Daphne. How do their deadly impulses change each of these characters and their relationships to others?
  4. In your opinion, which character seems to be the most afraid of death and aging? Why? How does this fear inform his or her actions in the book?
  5. "Life hadn't been unhappy, only dull" (p. 97). For Alan, boredom seems to be an inherent accompaniment to growing older, whereas many of the characters seem intent on satisfying their urges and living fully in old age. What do you make of Rendell's views?
  6. Rendell makes the distinction between growing older and growing up (p. 124). Discuss the moments when this novel's characters become "grown-ups." You might consider Michael's relationship to his father, Zoe and the lady on the train, as well as Daphne, especially in her childhood relationship with John Winwood. What do these moments of growing up have in common?
  7. We often equate age with wisdom, but The Girl Next Door questions that assumption by introducing us to characters who are questioning their lives and their choices. Who do you think are the wisest characters in the novel? Who are the most naïve?
  8. What effect does caring for Clara Moss have on Michael and the Batchelors? How does it impact their senses of themselves and of aging?
  9. "'Did you see that?' she said as the door closed behind them. 'He had his arm round her like they were young.''Maybe they feel young.'" (pp. 88–89). Is age more about how you feel or how you act?
  10. How does Rendell parody the younger characters in the novel, including Freya, Fenella, and Detective Inspector Quell?
  11. Though The Girl Next Door is an ensemble drama, who would you characterize as the book's protagonist? Who pushes most of its action forward? Similarly, which character do you think is most changed by the discovery of the hands?
  12. Rendell is best known for her mystery and psychological suspense novels. In what ways is The Girl Next Door a typical mystery? In what ways does it confound your expectations for the genre?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Scribner. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  What's In a (House) Name?

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.