MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews The Girl Next Door by Ruth Rendell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Girl Next Door

A Novel

by Ruth Rendell

The Girl Next Door by Ruth Rendell X
The Girl Next Door by Ruth Rendell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2014, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2015, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The discovery of bones in a tin box sends shockwaves across a group of long-time friends in The Girl Next Door.

If you don't usually like mysteries, you will like this one. I can say that with a certain degree of confidence because The Girl Next Door is more character study than mystery. Although as a longtime mystery and Rendell fan I can say, also, that this is a very satisfying whodunnit. Okay. Truth be told it really is more of a whogotit – as in, who is it that was murdered? – because from the very beginning we know who committed the dastardly deed, and why.

The story begins at the beginning. It's the late 1930s and John (Woody) Winwood is a very handsome young guy who marries Anita, the strikingly beautiful boss's daughter. "'You judge everybody by their appearance,' said his wife. 'That's all that counts with you.'" He replies, "'I judged you by yours. What else is there?'"

Clearly, looks alone don't make a marriage and, ere long, the couple becomes coldly indifferent to one another, despite the fact that they have a lovely home in Loughton, in the south of England, and a son, Michael. But Woody is just the most despicable person who treats everyone from charwoman to his own child with contempt. Then, in the waning days of World War II, he catches Anita cheating on him and decides that he must put a stop to the cuckoldry. Divorce is out of the question – he has to get his hands on Anita's inheritance – so he dispatches the lovers in bed, his and Anita's own bed.

As a bit of British black humor, he amputates one of each of their hands, clasps them together as if in an embrace and buries the grim diorama in a biscuit tin in an abandoned underground area nearby – which neighborhood children called "the qanats" or tunnels. In order to keep his ugly secret, he scolds Michael and his friends who frequently play in the tunnels, telling them to stay away. Later, he disposes of the remainder of the lovers' bodies, consigns Michael's care to a cousin, sells the house and moves on to woo another wealthy woman. It appears he has gotten away with murder.

Fast-forward some sixty-plus years. Modern day Loughton is still home to a few of Michael Winwood's childhood friends, but most have moved on and out, lost touch with each other. Now in their 70s, the group is largely still hale and as hearty as can be expected given their advanced age. Michael is widowed, as is Lewis Newman. Next door neighbor Daphne Furness, nee Jones, is thrice divorced. Alan Norris is married 50+ years to the former Rosemary Wharton and three of the Batchelor brothers are still around. Oh, and ninety-nine-year-old Woody is living the life of Riley in a posh retirement home.

Then a construction crew unearths a shortbread biscuit box containing the remains of two hands. Talk about a cold case.

This is where Rendell shines. Her characterization of the former childhood friends, their impromptu reunion in the company of the police regarding the history of the qanats/tunnels, their interaction with each other and the ensuing resurrection of old loves, losses, hurts and happenings are pure genius. For a lesser writer, juggling such an ensemble cast would be clumsy. Rendell pulls it off, drawing us into each person's life with wit and ease. She craftily pokes gentle fun at the legendary British reserve. Following a particularly jarring occurrence she writes, "Priding themselves on their stoicism, Alan and Daphne pretended to each other that they were unaffected by what had happened." And when a character is confounded by a neighbor's behavior she, "didn't know what to think about that so she didn't think about it."

In Rendell's practiced hands this is so much more than a mystery. It is so much greater than the sum of its body parts and cannily placed clues. It is about the stuff that draws people together, tears lives asunder and forces people to reexamine long held beliefs. I have been fan of the now-deceased Ruth Rendell for most of my adult life and have never been disappointed by one of her books. This one is classic Rendell – classy Rendell – delivering on the promise of great British storytelling.

Reviewed by Donna Chavez

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2015, and has been updated for the September 2015 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  What's In a (House) Name?

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.