Reading guide for The Bird Skinner by Alice Greenway

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Bird Skinner

by Alice Greenway

The Bird Skinner by Alice Greenway X
The Bird Skinner by Alice Greenway
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. The anchor of The Bird Skinner is the title figure, Jim. What makes this misanthropic man an endearing character? Why do the other characters care about him?
  2. Why is Jim so resistant to Cadillac's arrival? What are his excuses? Are they understandable?
  3. Discuss how Jim has set himself apart throughout his life. In what ways has he always been an outcast and recluse, from childhood through old age?
  4. With what curse does Jim's grandfather haunt him? How does this curse manifest in Jim's relationship with Fergus?
  5. Despite Jim's flaws as a father, Fergus cares for and looks after him. Talk about how their roles as father and son change throughout the story.
  6. Discuss Jim's identification with Long John Silver in Treasure Island. How does his obsession with Old Providence reflect his self-image as a gruff, one-legged pirate?
  7. What do Jim's memories reveal about Helen? How does her death relate to his memories of war, and to his posttraumatic stress? Helen's story is revealed late in the book. Why might this be the case, and is it effective?
  8. Is the end inevitable? Do the demise of Helen and Jim's thoughts about Papa Hemingway foreshadow the conclusion?
  9. After the sailing catastrophe, when Jim falls ill, he is sent to Cumberland Island to recover. As an old man, "He sees now how his life followed a distinct trajectory, veering ever south from the islands of the Penobscot, down to Georgia, out into the Caribbean, across to Indochina, finally landing him on the shores of the equatorial Pacific" (p. 213). What has island life offered Jim? How did it lead him to and enable his work? Did the island of Manhattan offer similar opportunities?
  10. In the Solomon Islands, the field hospital surgeon is overwhelmed by a new epidemic: "'Some fifty to a hundred mental cases a day.' Panic, fear, and collapse had swept through the troops as virulently as malaria or dysentery … 'War neurosis is the current diagnosis'" (p. 186–87). Is "neurosis" an understandable response to war?
  11. Consider the following passage: "Normalized abnormality is how Dr. Harding diagnoses Jim … Actions that seem abhorrent and even criminal to those still living a civilized life become the norm in war … a certain callousness or savagery is … what a man needs to survive here" (p. 189). Does this justify Jim's behavior toward the dead Japanese soldiers? What light does the Solomon Island tradition of headhunting throw on his actions?
  12. Discuss the ways that Cadillac provides Fergus with the warmth and support that he lacked from his father. What are the similarities between his memories of his mother and his experiences with Cadillac?
  13. How does Cadillac's upbringing in the Solomon Islands influence her ambition, her confidence, and her good temperament? In what ways did her childhood lead her to medical studies?
  14. Jim was an enigma to his colleagues at the museum. What do Michael and Laina learn about him through Michael's assignment?
  15. Greenway's keen eye and knack for description evokes a plenitude of vivid sceneries. What are some of the most memorable scenes and images?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Grove Press. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Solomon Islands

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.