The Solomon Islands: Background information when reading The Bird Skinner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Bird Skinner

by Alice Greenway

The Bird Skinner by Alice Greenway
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Solomon Islands

Print Review

The little-known Solomon Islands are a particularly unusual frame of reference for a work of contemporary fiction. By contrasting New England and Oceania, The Bird Skinner sheds light on a fairly obscure culture.

The Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands is an archipelago of about 900 islands located in Melanesia, a subregion of Oceania in the western Pacific. Most of the islands are mountainous due to volcanic activity, others are often tiny low lying sandy atolls. The closest land masses are Papua New Guinea and Australia to the west. It is believed that Papuans first settled on the Solomon Islands about 30,000 years ago. A new round of immigration from Southeast Asia in the 5th century BCE brought new languages as well as agricultural and boat-building innovations. Archaeological evidence only goes back about as far as the 13th century CE, with notable fortresses and shrines including those at the Nusa Roviana headhunters' hill fort.

European explorers first reached the country in 1568, when Spaniard Álvaro de Mendaña de Neira landed on Santa Isabel Island. Traces of gold found on Guadalcanal (the largest of the Solomon Islands) caused him to believe he'd found the wealth of the biblical King Solomon and led to the island chain's name. Future attempts to found a colony were unsuccessful, as were later expeditions by the British, French, and Dutch. It was not until the nineteenth century's major missionary activity that the Solomon Islands finally came under European rule, with Germany taking on the northern region as a protectorate in 1886 and Great Britain the southern region in 1893. Later, Britain absorbed control of the entire nation.

For such a small and obscure island country, the Solomon Islands played an unpredictably large role in World War II (as the character Jim experiences in The Bird Skinner). Japan invaded the islands in January 1942 and the United States retaliated by sending Marines to Guadalcanal and Tulagi, the site of British administration. The Solomon Islands would see some of the bitterest fighting of the war. The Battle of Guadalcanal (in August 1942) was the first major offensive against Japan and resulted in a much-needed Allied victory. The Japanese withdrew from the islands in December; their new defensive posture significantly weakened their Pacific campaign.

Britain regained control of the Solomon Islands in 1945, and the nation earned independence in 1978. Since that time it has been a parliamentary democracy but remains part of the Commonwealth of former British colonies, such that Queen Elizabeth II is still the official sovereign. The country is led by Governor-General Frank Kabui and, since 2011, Prime Minister Gordon Darcy Lilo. Border conflicts with Papua New Guinea dominated the 1990s, and ethnic violence against the Malaitans between 1997 and 2003 was another major source of upheaval. In February 2013, an 8.0 earthquake and accompanying tsunami destroyed five villages and 100 homes.

The population of the Solomon Islands is estimated at around 580,000. The capital and largest city is Honiara (on Guadalcanal) and is home to nearly 65,000. Ethnic Melanesians make up about 95% of the population. While about 90% identify as Christians, it is still common to honor ancestral spirits in local customs. The currency is the Solomon Islands dollar and the official language is English, but this is only spoken by 1-2% of the population and so is much less commonly heard than the lingua franca, Pijin, a Papuan language. Timber and palm oil are among the islands' major exports, which has led to a dangerous level of deforestation. Tourism, especially for diving, is another key industry.

Placement of Solomon Islands on globe from Wikipedia.com
Map of Solomon Islands cluster from Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of the Australian government

Article by Rebecca Foster

This article was originally published in February 2014, and has been updated for the November 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.