MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reading guide for Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

by Therese Anne Fowler

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler X
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2013, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. Why do you think Zelda refused to marry Scott until he'd made a name for himself? Was she manipulating him?

  2. Zelda didn't seem to care how her parents felt about her unstable relationship with Scott and how it might ruin her reputation. Did they have a valid point, considering the time period?

  3. What do you think was behind Scott's alcoholism? Was it due to his rocky relationship with Zelda or did he drink to fit in with the crowd?

  4. How do you feel about Scott selling Zelda's short stories under both their names? Why wouldn't he let Zelda publish under her own name?

  5. Which of Zelda's talents were her strongest? Which would you most like to possess?

  6. Why did Scott insist on hiring strict nannies to care for Scottie? What did this say about the kind of father he was?

  7. Considering the time period, do you think Zelda's mental condition was handled as well as it could have been? How might it be handled differently today?

  8. What did Scott's treatment of Zelda, while she was in the hospital, show you about his character? Did it make him any more sympathetic to you?

  9. Why does Zelda seem to let Scott have affairs without trying to stop him? What would you have done in her place?

  10. Zelda believed Ernest Hemingway was the reason she and Scott made a mess of their lives. Why do you think she thought this? Was she correct?

  11. Why did Hemingway write so spitefully about Zelda and Scott after their deaths? Did this surprise you?

  12. Why do you think Scott cared so much about his reputation as a serious writer? Do you consider him an important American writer?

  13. What impact did Zelda's relationship with her friends have on her? Do you believe her friends were good influences?

  14. How might the Fitzgeralds' public and private lives been different if they'd lived today? Would the media care as much about them?

  15. Scott turns Zelda's affair with Jozan into a work of fiction. What did this make you think about him? How would you have reacted if you were Zelda?

Created by BookBrowse, 2013



Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of St. Martin's Griffin. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.