MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reading guide for In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Sea There are Crocodiles

Based on the True Story of Enaiatollah Akbari

by Fabio Geda

In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda X
In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2011, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2012, 224 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer Dawson Oakes
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. The novel is narrated by someone recalling their childhood experiences. How does this affect your reading of the story? Do you feel more or less sympathetic than if it had been in the present tense? Do you always believe the narrator?


  2. Does knowing that this is a true story affect the way you read the novel? Are Enaiatollah's questions of Fabio throughout the novel meant to remind you that this is true?


  3. There are very few female characters encountered in the novel - why do you think this is?


  4. Overall, do you find Enaiatollah's story uplifting or heartbreaking? Is any of it hard to comprehend? Which sections affected you most?


  5. If Enaiatollah's story had been published as a non-fiction memoir, do you think your opinion of the story would be different? Would you have approached it differently?


  6. Discuss the contrast of the childhood innocence of playing buzul-bazi and the Taliban arriving to close the school. Does the fact that this is a child's experience of such brutality make it more shocking?


  7. Despite the novel being split into sections named after the countries Enaiatollah has lived in - he says that he "doesn't want to talk about places. They aren't important." If place and belonging mean nothing to Enaiatollah, what do you think drives him and his journeys? Is it freedom, friendship, safety?


  8. Discuss Enaiatollah's ideas about time - maybe consider the episode with his first watch and the fact that he doesn't know his true birthday.


  9. Fabio questions Enaiatollah on his mixture of similes: "It's funny. Sometimes you say things like 'he was as tall as a goat.' At other times, when you make comparisons, you come up with McDonalds, or baseball." "Why is that funny?" "Because they belong to different cultures, different worlds." Why do you think Enaiatollah does this?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Anchor Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.