Reading guide for The Queen of Water by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Queen of Water

A novel based on a true story

by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango

The Queen of Water by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango X
The Queen of Water by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Staring at the scars on her legs made by her drunken father, Virginia wonders if words can make scars on her heart. (p. 32) What words would have made scars on Virginia's heart? How can her scars be healed?

  2. The Doctorita verbally and physically abuses Virginia. Why does Virginia continue to stay with her when she has an opportunity to run away from her? How does the Doctorita convince Virginia that she can't leave?

  3. To improve her self-image and attain her dreams, Virginia stops eating and begins to exercise constantly. Why does she think that being thin will change her life? What does Jose tell her to make her start eating again? (p. 139) Why does Virginia choose to believe him?

  4. Why do the Doctorita and Carlos refuse to allow Virginia to have a boyfriend? How does Virginia defy them? What happens as a result of her defiance?

  5. Watching the TV show "The Slave Isaura" causes Virginia to consider she might be a slave, but she notices that the Doctorita does not see herself as an evil master. Is Virginia a slave? Why or why not?

  6. Virginia becomes afraid when Carlos begins to sexually harass her. How does Virginia deal with Carlos's unwanted advances? Why does he eventually stop?

  7. When Virginia leaves the Doctorita and returns home, why is she so uncomfortable? What decisions does she make as a result of her inability to feel at home with her family? Why does she feel such shame about being an indígena? What do Virginia's choices say about her character?

  8. Ultimately, Virginia's life transforms as she becomes a confident, successful young woman. How does her childhood help her become the Queen of Water? What life lessons does she learn as a result of her time spent with the Doctorita? How does she resolve the conflict between life in the two cultures?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Ember. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.