BookBrowse Reviews The Queen of Water by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Queen of Water

A novel based on a true story

by Laura Resau, Maria Virginia Farinango

The Queen of Water
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A novel based on the true story of a young girl taken from her Ecuadorian village, forced into servitude, and her journey back to self-discovery

At only seven years old, Virginia is taken from her family. She is taken from her home, which is inside a small mud-walled hut that she shares with her parents, her brother and sister, their guinea pigs, and her goat. She is taken from her life outside where she pastures her sheep in the valley, works in the corn and potato fields, and plays beneath the mountain that looms over the village. Virginia, who is an indígena (an indigenous person), is taken away from everyone, everything, and every place she has known - to become a servant for a Spanish-descended mestizo couple and their child.

The Queen of Water by Laura Resau and María Virginia Farinango is a novel based on the true story of María Virginia's incredible childhood journey. It explores the hard lines that are drawn between class and ethnicity, the brutality of accepting and perpetuating stereotypes, and the ...

About the Authors
Laura Resau With a background in cultural anthropology and ESL-teaching, author Laura Resau has lived and traveled in Latin America and Europe. Her experiences inspired her novels, among them: What the Moon Saw, The Indigo Notebook, and The Queen of Water. She lives with her husband and toddler in Colorado, and she donates a portion of her royalties to indigenous rights organizations in Latin America. For more information, please visit her bio page.

Maria Virginia Farinango María Virginia Farinango was born in a small Quichua community in the Ecuadorian Andes. The Queen of Water is based on the true story of her girlhood and her struggle to find her place between two cultures. She is now working toward a degree in psychology and lives in Otavalo with her husband and her son. For more information, please visit her bio page.

Photo credit: Tina Wood (Resau)
Photo credit: Ken Burgess (...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.