Reading guide for 26a by Diana Evans

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

26a by Diana Evans X
26a by Diana Evans
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2005, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2006, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

In this haunting tale of innocence lost, Diana Evans evokes, with unforgettable vividness, the wonders and terrors of childhood and growing up. Identical twins Bessi and Georgia Hunter create a private universe in the attic room at 26a Waifer Avenue in a drab, lower-middle-class section of London. Here they sit back to back when making important decisions and hatching dreams (will their parents get divorced? how will they create their flapjack empire?) and share an intimacy, a mystical sense of connection, that they feel will bind them forever. But theirs is not an innocence immune to the tensions arising from their Nigerian mother's distracted nostalgia for the home she left behind and their British father's drunken rages. When the Hunter family returns to Sekon, Nigeria, Georgia has a terrifying encounter with a night watchman that plunges her into a world of inner separation, self-consciousness, and painful secrecy and that pushes the novel to its harrowing conclusion. At once playful and serious, magical and real, 26a explores the ties that bind family members and extend from this world to the beyond.

Questions for Discussion
  1. In a dream William Gladstone tells Georgia that "one day you will see that there are no answers, only the places we make" [p. 30]. What does he mean, exactly? In what ways are place—and displacement—important in the novel?
     
  2. Why doesn't Georgia tell Bessi about being sexually assaulted by Sedrick? Might her life have turned out differently if she hadn't kept this awful secret to herself?
     
  3. Is Georgia's suicide attributable chiefly to her sexual assault? What other causes might have contributed to it? How does the attack change her?
     
  4. In what ways does the deep connection—the emotional telepathy, the oneness in twoness—between Bessi and Georgia change over the course of the novel?
     
  5. What does 26a suggest about gender relations—about the differing ways men and women view sex and love? How are women treated by men in the novel?
     
  6. Why does Evans include the story, told by Ida's father, of the "evil twins" Ode and Onia [p. 76-77]? In what ways does Bessi and Georgia's story parallel the folk tale? Are we meant to see Georgia's death in mystical or supernatural terms?
     
  7. How is Evans able to recreate so vividly the feel of childhood—all the whimsical imaginings, grand plans, secret dreams and fears that children have?
     
  8. Bel describes their father as a "repressed male animal" who didn't "answer his demons . . . And now they're eating him up" [p. 116]. Is she right? How does this statement explain Aubrey's behavior? Does Georgia answer her demons?
     
  9. When Jay asks Bel if Nne-Nne is a "real gran," Bel explains that when people get lonely they sometimes imagine a special person who will make them feel better. "If you imagine it hard enough, it becomes a real thing" [p. 163]. In what ways does 26a demonstrate both the powers and the dangers of the imagination?
     
  10. In what ways can 26a be read as an extended meditation on the theme of connection and separation?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Harper Perennial. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.