Read what people think about Sentinel by Matthew Dunn, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Sentinel

A Spycatcher Novel

by Matthew Dunn

Sentinel by Matthew Dunn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2012
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for Sentinel
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cassandra E. (Fort Myers, Florida)

Sentinel by Matthew Dunn
As a spy novel this was very good. It was easy to follow- although the Russian names and places were hard to follow at first. I haven't read the first in the series and I lost some of the background. But I really enjoyed it. It was a fast moving story that kept me wanting to read the next chapter. The story of a disgruntled spy that decided to start a war between the U.S. and Russia was different and kept you wondering who, what and why. I now want to read the first in the series. I hope the hardcover has included maps- I always feel that maps let you know where you are going in the story.
Darlene C. (Woodstock, IL)

A tired premise
Spy books about the cold war with Russia seem dated and out of sync to me. I enjoy spy books and this one was well written if that is your bag. It is fast-paced and gives a view of the unglamorous side of being an undercover agent. f you don't mind the old Russia vs. US theme this would be a great summer read
Power Reviewer Peggy K. (Long Beach, CA)

Russian Tea
I loved this book. Will Cochrane is Jason Bourne and James Bond in one body and even then still tougher than both. This is a real spy thriller and the tension goes up and up and up until the end. The action is nonstop.

It reminded me most of Ludlum's work but this book is smaller than most of Ludlum's. I would suggest that this book will interest male adult readers mostly but there are women out there like myself who enjoy this genre and I have to say it is the best I've read in a long time.

It has the intelligence of the British spy thriller writers like Le Carre but the action of the American writers. It has it all including a plausible plot, travel, romance and strong characterization. There are so many twists and turns it will make you dizzy.

Perfect summer book but beware you may not be able to put it down once started. If you are like me you will head for the bookstore to find Mr. Dunn's first book and then you'll be waiting for book number three to come out.
Power Reviewer Barbara O. (Maryland Heights, MO)

Snowy Thriller
The Sentinel is a heart racing page turner. Matthew Dunn engages the reader from the opening chapter and never lets go until the end. Will Cochrane is a character the reader will want to see more of, tough, resourceful and intriguing. One can't help but wonder at his backstory. Set in snowy Russia, this is a thrilling chiller of a story.
Power Reviewer Mary O. (Boston, MA)

Page turner
Will Cochrane is a memorable Cold War character and you feel like you know him as you are ensconced in the book. A typical British spy thriller that makes you want to read it in one sitting. A perfect summer beach read!!
LiteraryLinda Wyoming

Sentinel and His Surprise
Yes, there is a surprise ending which I never expected. I must admit I had trouble getting "into" this book. It probably had to do with being so busy that I read only a few minutes at a time. Once I was free of commitment, I began to like the book and ended up enjoying it. Reading spy thrillers is my forte; hence, my surprise at having trouble getting into it. Will Cochrane is quite a spy and I enjoyed his abilities. He seems to be well-trained in his various skills, yet he does have some warmness, though not much. He is such a harsh and evil-seeming man whose harsh methods could only be honed to efficiency by his hard work and his loyalty to his country. I think anyone who enjoys spy thrillers will enjoy this book. Thanks for the opportunity to read it.
Mark B. (Jackson, MI)

Sentinel, a Thriller
Set in a modern-day "cold war" Sentinel takes place in Russia and eastern Europe as CIA/MI6 agents rush to find who is killing their double agents -- a man who wants to start the nuclear war to end all wars. I am not a big fan of nuclear war novels, but found myself drawn into the single life of Will and his mission. A compassionate, yet well-trained MI6 agent, Will seeks out his captured friend to help resolve the impending war. Filled with travels throughout Europe and Russia, Sentinel is a good read for a long winter night. My one complaint with the author was his bouncing back and forth between metric and US scales, most particularly MPH/KPH. Being set in Eastern Europe and Russia, I would stick with the metric conversion. All in all, I recommend it if you don't mind a lot of killing and some visual gore.
Carolyn L. (Summerville, SC)

Sentinel
This book held my attention and moved along quickly. There could have been more character development, but it probably would have helped if I had read the first novel, Spycatcher, beforehand (and I intend to read it). All of the Russian names and places, as well as the acronyms, made it a little hard to follow at times, but on the whole, I thought it was a good thriller.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.