Read what people think about Bad Boy by Peter Robinson, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Bad Boy

An Inspector Banks Novel

by Peter Robinson

Bad Boy by Peter Robinson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2010
    352 pages
    Genre: Noir

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Bad Boy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ann C. (Roswell, GA)

Peter Robinson's Bad Boy
Admittedly, I am a total Chief Inspector Banks fan and have enjoyed each of the books in this Peter Robinson series. And, this latest entry which features Banks' daughter Tracy and his co-worker Annie is a first rate addition to the series. This is a compelling story and a fascinating character study with plot twists enough to keep the reader involved until the very last pages. I'm waiting eagerly for the next one!
Beth P. (Chester, VA)

Bad Boy
I have to admit that I ordered Peter Robinson's book, "Bad Boy" because my mom is a fan and I knew I could send it on to her. I have to tell you that within a few pages I was totally hooked on the book and am just sorry that I am starting with the latest Inspector Alan Banks book first. I have read many detective stories and what I loved about this book was that the characters came to mean something to me. I cared what happened to them. I rarely find that in a book that is also a nail-biter, one that you really don't want to put down. So now I am off to start reading the 19 other books by the award winning author. If you like British detective novels that will absolutely keep your attention, this book is for you.
Jane N. (Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey)

Bad Boy done Right
This is a great read and a wonderful "who dun it!" I especially enjoyed the female police detective. All of the characters are well developed and the plot line is well though out. This is the first time I have read this author and I know that I will be reading more from him. He is a great find for anyone who enjoys British mysteries!
Anne G. (Byram, MS)

Bad Boy by Peter Robinson Is Another Winner!
The latest Peter Robinson book featuring DCI Alan Banks is a diversion from the usual Banks investigation into a murder mystery. This novel is primarily a highly entertaining chase and pursuit when Banks enters the hunt for the Bad Boy. All the familiar characters from the Eastvale Precinct are here: DI Annie Cabot, DC Winsome Jackman, Det. Superintendent Gervaise and others that readers will remember.

Characterizations are brilliant, the dialogue is superb, and sense of place is established early on. A central theme asks what happens when all communication breaks down between a mother, a father, and a daughter? Readers are left to ponder the question that so many parents ask themselves every day and wonder what might have been "if only". The chase for Bad Boy starts off slow, builds speed, adds the element of danger to a Banks' family member, and races to a deadly finish that will keep readers up late at night to finish this book. Highly recommended!
Linda Z. (Corydon, IN)

Bad Boy
There are 20 books in this series of Inspector Banks and I cannot believe that I have never read any until this one. I have now read 2 others in the series and am starting on the first one. My local public library has 6 of them and I shall have to check the used book stores for the remainder but I intend to read all 20. I do wish there would have been a physical description of Alan Banks but maybe I will find one in the older books. If you like British mysteries, do not miss this author. Lots of twists and turns!
Janet H. (Lakeland, FL)

Loved this book!
I have enjoyed reading this series by Peter Robinson for years. I started with, "In a Dry Season", and that remains my favorite, but "Bad Boy" is excellent. Jaff is a villain whom you really hate, as is The Farmer. DCI Alan Banks is a wonderful character. By the last third of the book I could not stop reading until I turned the final page.
Christine B. (St Paul, MN)

Good Girl- Bad Boy
I thoroughly enjoyed this crime/suspense novel. I had never read any of the earlier Inspector Banks series and I am so glad to have been introduced to them. In this fast paced and quick to read story Alan Banks is thrown into a mystery involving his own daughter - so of course the stakes are high! If you like suspense/police work/murder- this is a must read.
Gail L. (Maitland, FL)

Fantastic Read
Unfortunately, I had never heard of Peter Robinson before choosing this book to read, but I will be purchasing all of his previous ones. I am so glad that there are 19 more books in this series to read.

The story held my attention from page 1 to the end. Alan Banks is my kind of protagonist and I'm glad I was introduced to him this way. Since his daughter was involved in the plot, I was able to experience the personal side of the man.

The characters were totally believable and I learned a great deal about the way the British police departments are run. There was a lot of explosive emotion, love, resentment and fear -- all of the elements that make up a great crime novel. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys crime novels.

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.