Read what people think about Handle with Care by Jodi Picoult, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Handle with Care

by Jodi Picoult

Handle with Care by Jodi Picoult
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2009
    496 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Handle with Care
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

kal (02/06/16)

Let down at end
I agree that it was moving in parts and very captivating but I thought the end was a let down after all the drama that was rendered to make it go to that point. I also had issues with the verdict as well.
As another reviewer wrote, how about government support or other resources other than a lawsuit?
The writing is very captivating and emotionally charged but the actuality of this happening to a family is a bit over the top.
Quantum Cow (05/06/12)

Handled With Disappointment
I love Jodi Picoult, I really do. I discovered her at Denver Childrens' Hosp. As a single mom of a totally disabled child, there are too many unexplored options. I am paid to take care of my son (3 weeks training for CNA License!) Medicaid? SSI? Hello! There are TONS of resources for families! No need for anyone to go through this! I am a devoted fan, but I agree that the settings, too many points of view, and subjects already explored in previous books just do not work here. Not to mention lack of research on resourses. Disappointed.
Tiffany Jamie (03/15/12)

Handle With Care
This is an enjoyable yet heartbreaking story about a girl who suffers from OI. It questions medical ethics and personal morality. It is definitely a MUST READ. :)
martha valencia (08/14/10)

bad ending
To start the book is a little disappointing with a despicable and heartless character like "Charlotte", there isn't any mother in the real world like Charlotte. Besides after you finally got engaged the end is just cruel; and What's up with the recipes, I don't ge it and it is boring! who needs a recipe in the middle of the book???

I don't recomend this book, it is a waste of time!
M.V.
Danielle (06/21/10)

Book of promise..ruined with horrible ending.
I read this book on recommendation from my mother, because we love to read books together. I started reading it around the same time she did, and finished it faster. The day I finished reading it, I called her and basically begged her to stop reading it.

SPOILER ALERT: If you have interest in this book at all, look away NOW

I've never been so ANGRY at the outcome of a book in my life. To have these characters go through such an emotional ordeal, and to have it end in such a heartless abrupt way is just unheard of.

To have us readers take the time to pour over these pages and get involved with these characters..and deal with all this legal mumbo-jumbo. To have the MOTHER go through such horrible abuse, and inner-turmoil..it's just TOO MUCH. She sues her best friend, goes through a bitter separation from her husband, and gets put on display as the Worst Mother in the World by the media.

Who the hell would write about a mother admitting that she wishes her child were never born anyway?

I was born with Cerebral Palsy, we had our own share of hardships dealing with my disability. But I know for a fact that my mother would rather die than ever admit anything like that..the thought would never cross her mind..for no amount of money in the world.

Then..finally, at the end..THEY WIN..and the 8 million dollars? gets put in Willow's casket after she drowns in a frozen pond.

Did I completely ruin this book for you? I HOPE so. Because its NOT worth reading. The only thing I learned about this book is that Jodi Picoult, though talented as she seems to be as a writer..needs to work on empathy for her characters. Because she comes off as a cold, heartless bitch.

This is the second book I've read by here where she's abruptly killed a main character, in order to achieve a 'poetic ending'.

DO NOT waste your money, time, or emotion reading this book. You will be cheated, in all those aspects.
Riley (03/28/10)

I loved this book!
I absolutely loooove this book. it was soooo good. I actually listened to it on tape and I couldn't stop listening to it. it was wonderful. It was heartwarming, sad, and disbelieving. Jodi Picoult knows how to write a good book, and entertain all of her audience.
Ellenor Ronelle (03/21/10)

Handle with care
An inspiring novel sure to captivate all readers with every page turn.
Tami (02/28/10)

Handle With Care
So good I read in a day.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Summer Before the War
    by Helen Simonson
    Set on the cusp of World War I, The Summer Before the War exudes strength and spirit as a small town...
  • Book Jacket: Lincoln in the Bardo
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    by George Saunders
    George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo is a philosophy discourse brilliantly disguised as a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Tender
    by Belinda McKeon
    Most of us have heard the slightly trite saying: "If you love something, set it free." But one can ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Fifth Petal
    by Brunonia Barry

    Beloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport

    A masterful retelling of the Russian Revolution from the author of The Romanov Sisters.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

The low brow and the high brow

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.