Reader reviews and comments on The Unwanted, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Unwanted

by Kien Nguyen

The Unwanted by Kien Nguyen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2001, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for The Unwanted
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lubna (06/01/09)

It makes me cry !
I couldn't stop reading the book. When i was reading the book it seemed like i was going through the time with the writer. It touched me deep in my mind. Thanks Nguyen for sharing this horrible past.
Mar (01/14/08)

The Unwanted by Kien Nguyen
This book left me heartbroken and stunned. There have been only a few books that have impacted me the way this book has. The poverty, abuse and tenacity of his spirit, leaves me ashamed of my own comfortable life. I wish there was a way to reach onto the pages of the book and comfort this child and to feed him. Since I cannot, I will remember that every day is an opportunity to help someone who is hurt and in need. Most people in the world are hungry, poor, alone and sick. We Americans (and others) have lives of incredible luxury that most others only dream of. My "problems" bring me humility when I read of others who have experienced real difficulty. Kien Nguyen, thank you for sharing your life and your vulnerability with us. My life is better having read your book.
Clif McCracken (05/18/07)

Unwanted: Feeling of Superiority
Having just completed The Unwanted, I write this review with humiliation and disgrace. My sorrowful state is not for Kien Nguyen and the unwanted Ameriasian children of Vietnam, but for my own spoiled nature and the sheltered existence that I have been afforded in life. Nguyen's plight for escape from an unyielding and unsympathetic culture gives me a renewed respect for those whom I previously deemed as undesirable. His written words ring more harsh and truer than a Sunday sermon. Least we forget forgiveness and hard work is essential to achieving happiness.
Kim (10/21/03)

Well written and highly recommended....
Teena (02/15/03)

Kien's life story was told with such reminiscence and brilliance that will truly touch any reader’s heart. I love this book. I recommend this book to everyone. Great job Kien!
Angela (11/23/02)

At first when I the first few words of this book, I was engrossed from the start. It tells a story of a young boy and his struggles to fit in. It is history told in a wonderful exciting way.
Tamara (10/30/02)

When I first bought the book for one of my college English courses, I immediately thought I would dislike the book. Now there is *NO* way I'm selling it when the semester is over!
Marican (09/11/02)

Kien Nguyen is in every aspect of the word a true survivor. Would be very interested in knowing what became of his family, did he keep in touch? Has he had the chance to meet his father? What are his brother, mother, and sister now doing? Has he gone back to Vietnam? What happened in the Philippines? Still many more stories to be told.
Could not put this book down, and did leave me with wanting to know more. Kien was very lucky to have soo many angels to protect him. I'm grateful for his courage to bear the truth, and grateful even more for his survival to tell his story. My best wishes to you Kien!!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Summer Before the War
    by Helen Simonson
    Set on the cusp of World War I, The Summer Before the War exudes strength and spirit as a small town...
  • Book Jacket: Lincoln in the Bardo
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    by George Saunders
    George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo is a philosophy discourse brilliantly disguised as a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Tender
    by Belinda McKeon
    Most of us have heard the slightly trite saying: "If you love something, set it free." But one can ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    A Piece of the World
    by Christina Baker Kline

    A stunning novel of friendship, passion, and art from the #1 bestselling author of Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    I See You
    by Clare Mackintosh

    A dark and compelling thriller about an everyday woman trapped in the confines of her everyday world.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Poetry is like fish...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.