Reader reviews and comments on Plainsong, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Plainsong

by Kent Haruf

Plainsong
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 301 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2000, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Plainsong
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michelle Doucette (11/06/02)

The characters seemed so real.
Mary White (10/28/02)

A wonderful book. Haruf's perceptions of human nature, and the atmosphere he creates makes this one of the best books I've read this year.
Vivienne Seaman (08/21/02)

I saw the silver seal of the National Book Award Finalist, on the cover and thought it would be really good. It certainly is not a page turner. While the character are well defined, you can personally see them and feel that you have met them. The book seems slow, dragging its feet to the conclusions of each character. When you read a book such as this you wonder what was the purpose of Mr Haruf in writing a book about small town gossip. It just seemed so ordinary, ordinary lives, ordinary stories. Not a great plot here. I did like the McPheron brothers with their "way down to earth" lodgic
Maddie Cramer (07/23/02)

I studied this book in english and thought it was quite boring, nothing much really happened. Although i don't suppose my opinion is important seeing as I am just a 15 Australian schoolgirl who wouldn't get the message anyway... it was a struggle to get through without going to sleep.
Joe (07/23/02)

It stinks
Karen Foster (06/04/02)

I keep recommending this book over and over again. I have given it to my friends, my daughters, my students, and even to my husband. Everyone says the same thing: "What a great book." Yet everyone who reads it comes away with something different. It has been a long time since I have read a book that has made me laugh and cry like this novel did.
Rosemary Broadbent (03/21/02)

When I have recommended this book to friends, I found myself over and over calling it "such a sweet book." That does not do it justice. It is about connections, made and broken and remade in the most unexpected ways. Haruf loves his characters and we do too, in the end. I read it on the train, and I would read a chapter, close the book and loook out the window and cry a little, and then read another chapter. These people have not had easy lives, but they are still willing to "give it one more shot," and let someone love them one more time.
todd (03/05/02)

I felt this novel had a timeless universal quality about it. As if Haruf didn't write it but plucked it out of a previous existence. The story and the charactors were always there and he just need to put them on paper.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.