What readers think of Ariadne, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ariadne

by Jennifer Saint

Ariadne by Jennifer  Saint X
Ariadne by Jennifer  Saint
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    May 2021, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 reader reviews for Ariadne
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Susan L.

The Life of Ariadne
This retelling of Ariadne's life is stunning. The language pulled me in despite knowing how the story ends. Jennifer Saint brought Greek mythology to life. Her descriptions, characters and tragedies resonated with me. I felt for Ariadne, her sister, Dionysus and enjoyed the journey from liking to disliking Theseus. Saint made it read like a true story with consequences and heartache for the characters. This is the way to connect or reconnect with mythology and our own humanity. A great read.
James C. (Warren, OH)

A Mythical Debut
If this debut is any harbinger of books to come, Jennifer Saint may join the mythical ranks of the likes of Hilary Mantel and Susannah Clarke. This sprawling novel delights with characters that jump off the page, epic action, palace intrigue, and family bonds. And it all emanates from an ancient mythical palace in Crete, and the families are gods and demi-gods! Immerse yourself in this wondrous tragic book that will require you to come up for air now and then. Don't rush - novels like these are worth pacing yourself; all the more time to dwell in the land of the gods.
Dan H

Greek mythology revisited
With lilting fairy tale language the author re introduces us to the folklore and mythology of Greece, which is only vaguely familiar to me. In juxtaposing the lives of the sisters, Ariadne and Phaedra, the author illuminates sibling love and rivalry in a beautiful way. The sisters, each strong-willed in her unique manner, chart their passages through a world controlled by men, with unpredictable machinations of the gods as a bonus. The story is filled with love and hate, vengeance and revenge, drama and tragedy, as we can only wish from the Greeks. Not a gentle tale, in the end, but one which reinvigorates their mythology. Recommended.
Peggy K. (Westminster, CO)

Meet the Women of the Myths
Jennifer Saint reimagines the myth of Ariadne and her sister Phaedra, daughters of King Minos of Crete and half-sisters to the dreaded Minotaur. It is a thrilling and yet tender tale of two sisters longing for the same thing: a life free of their tyrannical father and the ominous presence of the Minotaur, imprisoned in the stone labyrinth beneath the mosaic tiles of the palace. It is a story of love lost, won, and lost again—told by the sisters themselves. In this way, Saint gives readers a wonderfully feminist retelling of the ancient Greek myths. Highly recommend.
Marcia C. (Jeffersonville, PA)

Ariadne: A Heroine's Perspective
Lately it seems many stories have been written offering retellings of the classics of Greek mythology. Ariadne is Jennifer Saint's contribution to this genre. Her story is filled with drama and suspense leading the reader into forbidding places. Her powerful writing kept me on the edge of my seat and I found myself unable to put down the book as I followed Theseus, Ariadne and the Minotaur into those tunnels under Minos' castle where the Minotaur stalked his prey.
Saint's fresh voice energizes this tale as she presents a new take on a well-known myth. She wants her women to be seen as strong, not as victims of the misdeeds of heroes and gods. She's taken on a challenging task—one her heroines are well able to address. This is Jennifer Saint's first novel. I'm really looking forward to more.
For readers of Madeleine Miller's Circe.
Frances A Ilnicky-VanAmeyden

The Mercy of the gods
For most of my life, when I thought of mythology, Edith Hamilton's name came to the fore. Now I dare say Jennifer Saint's name may well pop to mind! Her story about Adriane was captivating! Saint piqued my interest in Chapter One, and held it through the Epilogue. I was thoroughly engrossed in the story of this young female human, Ariadne, who lives with, above, and side by side gods and men. No need to tell more! Enjoy the read!
Power Reviewer
Maggie R. (Canoga Park, CA)

Another wonderful Greek mythogy novel!
This is a first rate retelling of the story of I fell down the Circe (Madeline Miller) rabbit hole a few years ago and have never looked back. They just keep coming. I'd love to see a "family" tree with references to the numerous novels that followed!

It's hard to believe this is a first novel for Jennifer Saint who read Classical Studies at King's College, London and spent the next thirteen years as an English teacher. She is said to be working on a novel focusing on Clytemnestra and Electra.
Rebecca

A Pleasant Surprise
I was very hesitant to read this book. Greek mythology is not really my cup of tea. I certainly am glad that I did. The story of Ariadne, the daughter of Minos, king of Crete after the slaying of the Minotaur, her brother is a fascinating one. She finds herself on Naxos, the home of Dionysus, abandoned by Theseus after helping him to kill the Minotaur. Dionysus waltzes into her life as only the god of wine can, they marry, have many little boys and life is good. Or is it? There are so many references to the gods of Olympus and their impetuous acts that I was continually looking up the stories and thoroughly enjoying them. But it grows increasingly clear that, though goddesses are revered, feared and powerful, mortal women are oppressed, repressed and often the victims of a god’s anger though the crime may be perpetrated by a mortal man. It’s a fun read and highly recommended

Beyond the Book:
  Ariadne in Greek Mythology

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    What makes humans human? It's a mystery that has inspired philosophers and driven scientific ...
  • Book Jacket: Genesis
    Genesis
    by Guido Tonelli
    Popular science books represent an important niche in non-fiction. They build a bridge between ...
  • Book Jacket: Buses Are a Comin'
    Buses Are a Comin'
    by Charles Person, Richard Rooker
    Charles Person was just 18 years old in 1961 when he became the youngest of the first wave of '...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Angeline Boulley's young adult novel Firekeeper's Daughter follows 18-year-old Daunis — ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Girl in His Shadow
by Audrey Blake
The story of one woman who believed in scientific medicine before the world believed in her.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ariadne
    by Jennifer Saint

    A mesmerizing debut novel about Ariadne, Princess of Crete for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

Who Said...

I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S I T closet

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.