Reader reviews and comments on Love and Other Consolation Prizes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love and Other Consolation Prizes

A Novel

by Jamie Ford

Love and Other Consolation Prizes by Jamie Ford X
Love and Other Consolation Prizes by Jamie Ford
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2017, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 19, 2018, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for Love and Other Consolation Prizes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

PEGGY S

Another winner from Jamie Ford
Another interesting novel about Seattle during the first World's Fair in Seattle. Amazing inside look at a brothel and well documented look at this time period.
Hulananni

Second as good as the first
I loved "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet" so I was anxious to read Ford's second novel. I was not disappointed. His characters draw me in. I am sharing their pains and their loves. Great read.
Cassandra E. (Fort Myers, FL)

Love and other consolations
Awesome story. I had no problems when the story went back and forth in time frame. Mr. Ford did a wonderful jobin his research in that time era of Seattle. I know everyone will love this book.
Amber B. (East Sparta, OH)

Sweet, provoking must-read
Love and Other Consolation Prizes describes a world most readers could never imagine... a world in which the most loving home for a preteen boy is a brothel where he works odd jobs, a world in which dementia is perhaps the most gracious gift for an elderly woman.
I found this engrossing book difficult to put down. It expertly examined issues of friendship, love, feminism, survival, and the worth of a human being.
The dual timelines add much to the story in that the 1960s era teases readers with a happyish ending for Ernest and Fahn/Gracie, but you learn that there's so much more to the story.
I'm eager to read more by Jamie Ford.
Shawna (TX)

"People ....can affect our gravity"
Engrossing story set in a little known era in Seattle 1910's and also in the 1960s. Historical fiction lovers will enjoy this novel.

Themes to discuss include what makes a family, human trafficking, who we choose to love and why we make those choices.

Don't miss the author's note at the end of the novel. My favorite line is "There are people in our lives who we love, and lose, and forever long for. They orbit our hearts like Halley's Comet, crossing into our universe only once, or if we're lucky, twice in a lifetime. And when they do, they affect our gravity."
Amy P. (Boulder City, NV)

A Pleasure to Read
It was a pleasure to read Love & Other Consolation Prizes, historical fiction based on true events. The story alternates between early and mid-century Seattle Worlds Fairs, following the main characters from childhood to their golden years. Author Jamie Ford vividly describes the despair of a young orphan sold into slavery, the sights and sounds of the wondrous Worlds Fair five decades apart, and the tender love story of friends, family, and the fragile threads that intertwine their lives and their loyalties. This book covers a myriad of topics including medical treatments, immigration, Suffragette movement, in addition to the deeply moving descriptions of each character; their emotions and motives.

It was a double pleasure to be able to read this book during a return visit to Seattle. Ford's eloquent style of writing and attention to detail makes one forget this is a work of fiction!
Deanna W. (Port Jefferson, NY)

Bitter& Sweet
Another historic novel that reflects the history and society of its times. This excellent novel was inspired by true events that occurred at the 1909 Seattle World's Fair. Through flashback and flash-forward chapters the reader follows the life of a boy that is raffled off at the fair. The story deals with themes of family, prejudice, identity, and fitting in. This is a poignant and subtle novel that is perfect for book groups.
Wanda T. (Garnet Valley, PA)

Love and Other Consolation Prizes
I was looking forward to reading another novel by Jamie Ford, author of "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet". He did not disappoint. "Love and Other Consolation Prizes" was a journey of a young boy through his later life that included sadness, fear, happiness, heartbreak, love, history - a little bit of everything! Similar to "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet", Ford has two narratives. This story starts in 1962, goes back to 1902 and continues to alternate following the life of Yung Kun-ai later known as Ernest Young as he struggles to make the best of the life he was dealt. I don't want to give the impression that this is a depressing story. It is not! It is a heartwarming story of a young child's journey through life and I loved every minute of the journey!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  170 Years of World's Fairs

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.