Reader reviews and comments on Girl Waits with Gun, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Girl Waits with Gun

by Amy Stewart

Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart X
Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2015, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2016, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 29 reader reviews for Girl Waits with Gun
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Wendy W. (Ann Arbor, MI)

I wanted to love this, but...
This book started with such promise. Amy Stewart is a very good writer. Her descriptions are wonderful and her characters are strong. It wasn't until the end that I realized that the story was based on real people, and I think that may be the problem. I could easily see 50-100 pages being edited out of this book and it being a much stronger work. It felt like the same thing kept happening over and over and it became tiresome. I'm all for historical accuracy, but if you're already taking artistic license by mixing fictional characters and real people (as she admits she did), than perhaps you can streamline the facts to make for a story that is more interesting to read.
Becky M. (Crumpler, NC)

Tell me there will be more!
What a fun read! Girl Waits with Gun is the fictionalized story of one of the first women deputies in the country. Constance is imposing, strong-willed, and ready to take on obstacles that lesser women OR men would never tackle. But she must defend her family and home from aggressive and brutal men, and she will NOT back down. Based on newspaper accounts and family interviews, Amy Stewart replays history and creates a gripping story along the way. Please tell me this is the first of many in the Constance Kopp series!
Duane F. (Cape Girardeau, MO)

Girl Waits With Gun
A good piece of historical frolic. I have grown very fond of fiction based on fact. This sweet book takes the reader back to simpler times, but times where women were kept from the unseemly sides of life and often held in seclusion for what was labeled their own protection. But these three heroines, Constance, Norma and Fluerette were thrust into a snare of a brutal silk factory owner by sheer chance. Ranging from Constance's determination to set out justice for herself and her sisters, free from harassment, to Fleurette's pubescent fantasies of daggers and dancers and dangers and nicely balanced by Norma's desire to be left alone to pursue her farm and pigeons, Ms Stewart has given us a wonderful story of women who can protect themselves, mostly, but ultimately. This was a refreshing, enjoyable peek into what was a woman's world at the turn of the century. Her descriptions brought to life the streets of chaos and turmoil from new age of industry and all its consequences. Her character development allowed the reader to feel the characters and hide with them as their assailants lobbed bricks through the windows and one could almost taste the acrid air within the factories. I will miss these three ladies and wish I could have watched as Constance grew into her new and for that period of time, exciting career as one of our first female deputy sheriffs!

I think the rating of the book will largely depend upon the expectations of the reader, some may be disappointed with the lack of the usual sex and violence many seek today. But if what you are looking for is a book with heart and sincerity along with reality and fact and a sense of warmth and resolve... I recommend it with a fond smile.
PiperUp

3.5 stars
3.5 stars...looking forward to reading the next one in the series.
Love Good Lit

(Boring Predictable) Girl with Gun
A very disappointing read. I do believe, or would like to believe that we are waaaaay beyond the 'feisty female' protagonist. Main character (see, I have already forgotten her name) is so deeply stereotypical in too many ways. The writing was redundant and plodding in too many places. Life is far too brief (and this book far too long) to read this kind of writing.

Beyond the Book:
  The Real-Life Kopp Sisters

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.