Reader reviews and comments on Girl Waits with Gun, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Girl Waits with Gun

by Amy Stewart

Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart X
Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2015, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2016, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 29 reader reviews for Girl Waits with Gun
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Joyce W. (Rochester, MN)

A delightful read!
Amy blends humor with the time period in a wonderful way. Ladies were ladies, but they could also be independent and feisty. Her characters are well drawn and she creates suspense since you don't know what is going to happen next. I will recommend this book and plan to check out her previous books. It is nice to read a fun story as there are so many dark reads out there.
Power Reviewer
Anna R. (Oak Ridge, TN)

Fascinating
Girl Waits With A Gun was a surprise. I didn't know it was historical fiction, so that sent me to the Internet to read about the real people in the book. The writing was wonderful, the characters came alive and I could "see" the farm where the women lived. What a story!! I read this book in two days and will recommend it to my book group just as soon as it is in paperback.
Power Reviewer
Beverly D. (Palm Harbor, FL)

WOW.
Loved this book. Smart, interesting subject matter, very well written and fun! Seemed like an old fashioned serial in some ways. Constance is a well developed character and I'd like to see what happens next with her and her family. I would recommend this novel for historical fiction lovers, young adults and book clubs....and people from New Jersey!
Dianne S. (Green Valley, AZ)

An Outstanding Book!
I loved Girl Waiting with Gun. I was captivated from the very start and on the edge of my proverbial seat for the entire book. The story was humorous, suspenseful and totally engrossing. As I got near to the end, I began to read more slowly because I didn't want it to end.

I was very surprised when I read in the acknowledgement s that the story was based on true events. I was thrilled when I read that it would be a series.

I highly recommend this book to anyone that likes a rollicking good read!
Linda N. (Dallas, TX)

Constance is my new hero
I thoroughly immersed myself into this intriguing and delightful story of the Kopp sisters, each vulnerable yet strong in her own right. I particularly resonate with the oldest, Constance, who with true grit, courage, cleverness, resourcefulness and independence, meets the challenges that threaten her family. This is a good choice for book clubs, lovers of historical fiction, and any reader who loves seeing difficult challenges met by strong feminine protagonists.
Francine E. (Shirley, NY)

The Steely Determined Constance
Sometimes you choose your job profession, sometimes your profession chooses you. Such is the case in this entertaining and enjoyable read by Amy Stewart. The Kopp sisters, driving to town in their buggy in 1914 are hit by a motorcar driven by Henry Kaufman, a silk factory owner. He is a man of means used to getting his way. When Constance Kopp, the oldest sister, sends him an invoice for repairs to her buggy, all hell breaks loose!

We learn about the Kopp sisters. Constance is stubborn and single minded while trying to hide a family secret. Norma is cloistered; a shut-in more concerned with her pigeons than people. Fleurette, the youngest is a creative free spirit . These eccentric sisters, with the help of Sheriff Heath, try to collect the $50 fee from Kaufman for the buggy repair.

Henry Kaufman is a belligerent man, used to forcing his will on others but he is up against Constance Kopp, a force to be reckoned with. While Constance being schooled by Sheriff Heath, learns to use a revolver and gains investigative skills, Henry Kaufman ups his game.
Power Reviewer
BeckyH

First Woman deputy sheriff
Constance Kopp, the first woman Deputy Sheriff of New Jersey, is the heroine of this novel. Constance was a real person as are her sisters and the other law enforcement persons. The personalities of each is clearly defined. The story moves slowly, but is interesting with the detailed descriptions of life in 1914 in small towns, large cities and the family farm. The narrative is enhanced by the newspaper articles (real ones) that are interspersed throughout.
Altogether an engaging novel about an intriguing woman and her refreshingly novel family even with a fairly slow start.
4 of 5 stars
Barbara

Enjoyed the book very much
I found this to be a very enjoyable and thought provoking historic fiction. I was unaware of the happenings and social conditions in the early 1900's in New York/New Jersey. The book was informative and the characters were engaging and interesting. I have recommended this book to others and they, too, are enjoying it.

Beyond the Book:
  The Real-Life Kopp Sisters

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.