Reader reviews and comments on The Wind Is Not a River, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Wind Is Not a River

by Brian Payton

The Wind Is Not a River
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Wind Is Not a River
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

BobbieC (12/05/14)

War Comes to Alaska
Who know that WWII was so close to mainland USA? This fictional account of the secretive battle to keep the Japanese from escalating the front to the USA is told from the perspective of a journalist caught behind enemy lines and his wife who searches for him. John Easley, after his plane is shot down, fights to stay alive on a remote Aleutian Island, and his wife travels to Alaska on a USO trip to find him. The writing is crisp, evocative and succinct - no wasted words here. The writer describes loneliness with such powerful images, the book was hard to put down. Alice, Easley's wife, is an amazing, strong and dedicated woman who fights protocol, her mixed feelings and the US Air Force to travel to Alaska to look for her husband. I am not so sure I enjoyed the last couple of chapters as much as the rest of the book, but the book and its characters stayed with me long after I finished it.
  • Page
  • 1

Beyond the Book:
  Battle of the Aleutian Islands

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.