Reader reviews and comments on Wonder, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wonder

by R.J. Palacio

Wonder by R.J. Palacio X
Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Feb 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 16 reader reviews for Wonder
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sara

Wonder book review
I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse. (A passage from the book)

Wonder is a book about a boy called August who is very different from most other kids but he sees himself as an ordinary kid. As a usual kid, he loves Star Wars, science and Halloween. He also lives with his mum and dad, Isabel and Nate and his sister via. Because of his face problem he has been home-schooled by his parents. Because he is growing up and he is supposed to be in year 5 by now his parents decided it was time for him to join a school. So, he joined Beecher Prep. If you’re a new kid you will know how hard to is to fit in and make friends. The thing is August is just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary and different face. Will he be able to find friends and convince his classmates that he is just like them, despite his face?
(read the book to find out)

R.J Palacio has written this book to bring joy, sadness and laughter all at the same time. One minute you are laughing and the next you are crying in tears. This book is such an uplifting book that tells a marvellous story of August's life. This book is available to all readers. This book is skilled for ages 8 readers.
Bryan Arevalo

Wonder
Wonder is the best realistic story about a kid who has many challenges to overcome and this also inspiring because it tells YOU to not judge people how they look and be their friend.
Keagan

Wondering about Wonder
After I finished this book I couldn't stop restarting it again and again. There's just so much you could learn from it and I thought that the more I read it the more I was understanding and learning! I really used the material that I got from it to help make more friends! If it weren't for "Wonder" I would not have my best friend, she is not deformed or anything but I have back problems and I finally got the nerves to hang out with people not of my kind when I read "Wonder"!!!
Bob

Wonder
A very interesting, heartwarming and fantastic book overall.
LaCaiya21

awesomeness
This book is sweet and touching, you should read the second one also.
Tonya

Wonder
It's the best book ever. It made me cry,
RuthW21

My 9 year old absolutely LOVED this book!
This a is fantastic book for older children and teenagers to read. Its about a boy born with deformities and how he manages to get through life. It is written through the eyes of different characters and remains very realistic through out. I did wonder how my daughter would react but it has given her a greater understanding of people with differences and has enthused her to reading. We wait with anticipation for the author's next book. Please make it soon.
Michael Quinn

the best book ever
This book is very good because when you start reading it you wonder what's gonna happen next. And I am a 5th grader.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.