Reader reviews and comments on Little Princes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Little Princes

One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

by Conor Grennan

Little Princes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2011, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 30 reader reviews for Little Princes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Beverly D. (Palm Harbor, FL) (11/30/10)

more info please
Another in the line of "self-discovery" storis and commitment to doing what is right no matter the cost.
The story of the 18 orphans and the 7 lost children is the thread that ties adventures together. Although an absorbing journey, I need more background info, i.e. the civil war in Nepal,child trafficking and how the NGN functions within the precarious conditions(governmental /economic) in Nepal.
The writing is very engaging but seems to be more like diary entries with extremely detailed conversations. I wanted to hear, though, backstories on Conor and& Farid.
I liked this book and wanted to give it a higher rating than I will. My main criticism is that I needed more history to ground the amazing work that proves one person CAN make a difference.
Annette S. (Duluth, GA) (11/30/10)

Little Princes
A remarkable story of how volunteering for three months in a Nepalese orphanage changed the author's life. He acquaints you with the culture, politics and everyday life of Nepal. But what I found most heartwarming was the children he introduces to the reader. They are so appreciative of even the smallest gift and able to make up entertaining games with discarded items. A great discussion book for Book Clubs. If you liked Three Cups of Tea this is a book for you.
Bess W. (Marlton, US) (11/29/10)

Going home
Conor Grennan's quest to help the lost children of Nepal is an astounding journey. This well told novel is full of suspense, war, corruption, self-awareness and above all about love and caring. I would recommend this book to all--young and old. As in Three Cups of Tea and Mountains Beyond Mountains we are reminded that one person can make a difference and that we should all try to make a difference.
Power Reviewer Priscilla M. (Houston, TX) (11/27/10)

A Must Read!
It is inevitable that comparisons will be drawn between The Little Princes and Three Cups of Tea, but Conor Grennan has written a book that deserves to stand on its own. Told in equal proportions of humor, compassion, and honesty, the story relates how the author came to be involved with a children's home in Nepal at the beginning of a year-long journey of travel around Asia and Southeast Asia. After volunteering at the home for three months, he vows to return. The children at the home are not orphans, but rather "disappeared" children, sent away by their parents to avoid conscription into the Maoist army in Nepal. Grennan and a French volunteer named Farid become obsessed with the idea of finding the parents of these children, most of them from the remote village of Humla. The story of this quest and Grennan's own personal growth draw the reader into a compelling story of how individuals can make a profound difference in the world by the simple act of caring about the welfare of others. I could not put the book down once I started reading it.
Marti F. (Coralville, IA) (11/25/10)

Outstanding book!!
This amazing book came about because the author decides to take a trip around the world but makes the decision to start out by volunteering for three months at an orphanage in Kathmandu, Nepal. He does this even though he read in the volunteer brochure that there is a civil war going on in Nepal (1996-2006), but it is not directly affecting Kathmandu. He even admits this whole idea seemed "ludicrous", as he has never spent much time with kids and cannot think of a single skill he possesses. He even admits to doing it mainly to impress people.
He walks through the gate of the orphanage and his life is changed forever. He learns that he is good with children, they love him and he falls in love with them. But he also comes to learn that they are not truly orphans, but have been stolen from their families by human traffickers, gone through who knows what - including slavery, and then were rescued by the orphanage. He learns of several more orphanages like this in Nepal and that there are thousands more children in Nepal who have not been rescued.
What follows shows what one person, with a strong, single-minded conviction, along with many other like-minded people he has met in Nepal, can accomplish when they set their minds and hearts to it and never give up, even in the face of extreme hardship. I laughed, I cried, I fell in love with the children and was amazed over and over again at their resilience, strength and ability to laugh and play as a way to cope with their inner pain. And most of all, I thanked God for people like Conor Grennan, for this outstanding book and for the work his organization continues to do for the lost children of Nepal.
Amber B. (Canton, Ohio) (11/20/10)

Breathtaking memoir!
Conor Grennan writes with humility, humor and grace - Little Princes is riveting. I truly could not put it down; at the same time, I didn't want it to be over. Reading this flawless memoir is like traveling to Nepal - you'll be captivated by the scenery, struck by the challenges her citizens face, and fall in love with the people themselves, especially the children. Readers are going to be talking about this book for a very long time!

Beyond the Book:
  Next Generation Nepal

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.