Reader reviews and comments on Mr. Peanut, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mr. Peanut

by Adam Ross

Mr. Peanut by Adam Ross X
Mr. Peanut by Adam Ross
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2010, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Mr. Peanut
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

R.M. Trilipush

Excellent Debut
Mr. Peanut is definitely worth a read. I enjoyed the Escher-esque plot, the allusions to Hitchcock and Nabokov, and the shout out to Silence of the Lambs. But most of all, I liked the writing. It's hard to find a book these days that is both literary and highly readable, and this is one.

Other reviews I've read have found the plot a bit overwrought. I disagree. The complexity adds to the suspense and storytelling. Did David Pepin kill his wife? Did he drive her to kill herself? Did he just fail to save her? The Hastroll and Shepperd interludes prepare the reader for the answer. The Hastroll storyline focuses our attention on a husband's frustrated attempts to understand the inexplicable behavior of his wife. We are made to feel (vividly) Hastroll's mounting anxiety and desperation as he tries repeatedly to placate his wife and becomes unraveled in the process.

The Sheppard storyline works a different angle. Sheppard's complete disregard for his wife gives us a glimpse into the mind of a total narcissist who doesn't care about his marriage until it's too late. Hastroll wants to save his marriage. Sheppard basically destroys his. If nothing else, Mr. Peanut has much to say on what a marriage can withstand. By the time we come to the end of the novel, we are prepared for ANY answer with respect to David Pepin.

The cleverness of the novel -- at least on the plot level -- is that it provides a means for the reader to fully explore EVERY answer. Saying more than that would give away huge spoilers. But the plot, clever as it is, is not really what kept me reading. I was drawn in by the writing. Ross's talents as writer are on full display. The quotidian concerns of married life are verbalized intelligently and elevated to high drama.

Parts of the novel are cinematic (David and Alice in Hawaii, Sheppard's interrogation of Mobius). Even descriptions of setting and place are done thoughtfully. Very little feels plot-driven or contrived, even though the story relies heavily on the conventions of a murder-mystery. The novel is smart in its language and execution (no pun intended), and makes no bones about it. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Bonnie Brody

Disappointing Read
I read Mr. Peanut and was quite disappointed. The book was disjointed, it seemed to try and go too many places and the ultimate feeling I had was boredom. It is about a man whose wife dies from choking on a peanut. Did he kill her or was it an accident? The book also goes into the lives of the detectives on the case. It does have an interesting premise but it panned out poorly.
  • Page
  • 1

Beyond the Book:
  Peanuts and Anaphylaxis

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.