Reader reviews and comments on Sashenka, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sashenka

A Novel

by Simon Sebag Montefiore

Sashenka
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2008, 544 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2009, 544 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Sashenka
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sandy W (12/22/09)

Great read
This book was a classic for historical fiction in that it gave me so much information dealing with a period in history I know little about. Sashenka's life and dealings with the KGB were fascinating as well as how the existence of the secret police affected everyday citizens in Russia. Excellent read.
Vivian (01/12/09)

Sashenka
Well written and descriptive of the time. One forgets exactly how dangerous it was to live in the time of such upheaval in Russia. The Czar is deposed and killed and the people think/hope/believe it will be a better place to live. The era under Stalin was not a safe time and the possibility of being reported and tortured and either imprisoned in the Gulag or be put to death did not contribute to a good life.The survival of the children was heartwarming. It was good to realize one person did do so much to help them live after the parents were taken away. Would recommend reading it.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.