Reader reviews and comments on Savvy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Savvy

by Ingrid Law

Savvy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2008, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for Savvy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Emilee bowman (09/08/10)

from a 12 year olds eyes.
This book is a nice book to read. If you like adventure nonfiction and a little funny, this is the book for you. Me being 12, this is an easy book to understand! I just can't put it down!
soccerchick (08/18/10)

SAVVY ROCKS
alright so it was 4 weeks before school and I hadn't read savvy. and I was all like "uggggggg: I DO NOT want to read this book!" but then I read it and it was the best book ever and I finished it in 1 day because I couldn't stop reading it (and I am not much of a reader)!
Julia Gulia (06/16/10)

Beautimous
I was astonished by this book. The story is both entertaining and heartrending, and Law's writing style weaves together every element of the story. The book is not only a kids' story--it is children's literature. I am not a young adult, so I read this book with the target age range in mind, but I was entertained and moved by the story as well as impressed by the literary quality of Law's writing.

In the story, Mibs gets her "savvy"--a special know-how that every member of her family gets on their 13th birthday--and spends two days trying to get to her father in the hospital to use her savvy on him. On the way, she discovers that her savvy is not what it seems--and neither is becoming an adult. A coming-of-age tale that mixes adventure with self-discovery and even a touch of romance, I will be shocked if you do not enjoy this book.
Ady (05/18/10)

cewl
I think this book was cool off the charts. I liked the plot and the imagination and some real life situations! :)
Izabella (03/11/10)

Remarkable Book
I LOVED this book. It was filled with action, kindness, and, of course, Mibs savvy. Mibs savvy is unknown to her at first but then she finds out what it is and is proud to be a Beaumont. This book is worth recommending.
Savvy fan (01/06/10)

My favorite book
I think this book is very descriptive and is very captivating. This book would be an awesome read for ages 10-13 because it talks about the mixed up teenage years.

Savvy fan and I approve of this message!
Savvy rocks!!!!!!!!
Jonas Fan (07/16/09)

Savvy Review
I thought this was a very good book, but I thought it would have been nice if she used titles for the chapters so if anyone needs to go and find something it would be easier to find. Overall this book will pull readers right in.
sup with savvy (04/26/09)

Try it with me, here we go!!!
It is okay and good, but is very long. There are also some strange words...
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.