BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews One of Our Kind by Nicola Yoon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

One of Our Kind by Nicola Yoon

One of Our Kind

A Novel

by Nicola Yoon
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • Jun 11, 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In her adult debut, bestselling YA author Nicola Yoon envisions a Black utopia that offers a nightmarish version of freedom.

When Jasmyn Williams and her husband King move with their young son Kamau from an apartment in the diverse neighborhood of Mid City Los Angeles to Liberty, an exclusive suburb outside the city, they feel like they've made it. Not just because they're following in the footsteps of countless other upwardly mobile families who have traded in their bus passes and bustling city parks for sprawling lawns and cul-de-sacs. For these young Black parents, the opportunity to live in a designed suburb, a modern-day Black utopia, where everyone from the mayor to the police chief to the high school principal is Black, represents a kind of safety and security they never knew when they were growing up in Compton.

The chance to raise their son (and the new baby they're expecting in a few months) surrounded by Black role models, in a place where being Black is celebrated unconditionally, is especially ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Black Utopias

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked One of Our Kind, try these:

  • The Memory of Animals jacket

    The Memory of Animals

    by Claire Fuller

    Published 2024

    About This book

    More by this author

    From the award-winning author of Our Endless Numbered Days, Swimming Lessons, Bitter Orange, and Unsettled Ground comes a beautiful and searing novel of memory, love, survival—and octopuses.

  • Moonrise Over New Jessup jacket

    Moonrise Over New Jessup

    by Jamila Minnicks

    Published 2023

    About This book

    Winner of the 2021 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, a thought-provoking and enchanting debut about a Black woman doing whatever it takes to protect all she loves at the beginning of the civil rights movement in Alabama.

We have 7 read-alikes for One of Our Kind, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Nicola Yoon
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.