BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Last Murder at the End of the World by Stuart Turton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Murder at the End of the World by Stuart Turton

The Last Murder at the End of the World

A Novel

by Stuart Turton
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • May 21, 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


When a brutal murder in a postapocalyptic world triggers the failure of a security system, the last remaining humans have only 91 hours to solve the murder...or face the extinction of the human race.

The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the vestiges of humanity have not only survived but worked together to create a picturesque existence under the oversight of the elders. These three, who were alive before the fog arrived, are the only ones with the scientific knowledge to keep the other 122 humans alive. When Niema, the head elder, is brutally murdered, the island's security system begins to fail. Prior to her death and fearing the likelihood of violence, Niema programmed the security system so that only the death of her murderer would stop the encroaching fog, for reasons that will later become clear. But Niema's death also triggered an island-wide memory wipe, making the case seemingly impossible to solve by anyone except one villager, Emory. Emory has always asked too many questions, a trait that, combined with her ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Last Murder at the End of the World, try these:

  • Snowglobe jacket

    Snowglobe

    by Soyoung Park, Joungmin Lee Comfort

    Published 2024

    About This book

    In a world of constant winter, only the citizens of the climate-controlled city of Snowglobe can escape the bitter cold—but this perfect society is hiding dark and dangerous secrets within its frozen heart. A groundbreaking Korean novel translated into English for the first time!

  • Blind Spots jacket

    Blind Spots

    by Thomas Mullen

    Published 2024

    About This book

    More by this author

    A riveting crime novel with a speculative edge about the ways our perceptions of reality can be manipulated.

We have 5 read-alikes for The Last Murder at the End of the World, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Stuart Turton
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

These are not books, lumps of lifeless paper, but minds alive on the shelves

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.