Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Blind Spots by Thomas Mullen

Blind Spots

A Novel

by Thomas Mullen

Blind Spots by Thomas Mullen X
Blind Spots by Thomas Mullen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2023, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2024, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Erin Lyndal Martin
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A riveting crime novel with a speculative edge about the ways our perceptions of reality can be manipulated.

Seven years ago, everyone in the world went blind in a matter of months. Technology helped people adjust to the new normal, creating a device that approximates vision, downloading visual data directly to people's brains. But what happens when someone finds a way to hack it and change what people see?

Homicide detective Mark Owens has been on the force since before The Blinding. When a scientist is murdered, and the only witness insists the killer was blacked out of her vision, Owens doesn't believe her—until a similar murder happens in front of him. With suspects ranging from tech billionaires to anti-modernity cultists—and with the bodies piling up—Owens must conduct an investigation in which he can't even trust his own eyes.

Thomas Mullen, the acclaimed author of Darktown and The Last Town on Earth, delivers an unputdownable crime novel about one man's search for truth in a world of surveillance and disinformation that's all too recognizable.

CHAPTER 1

Owens still remembers what it was like to trust. Trust his eyes, his friends, his employer. Trust his own mind, the signals firing inside his brain, the response of his body to the world around him.

Trust is something you don't think about. When it exists, it's invisible.

Like gravity. When something you let go of falls to the ground, you might be annoyed but never surprised, because that's just how it works.

Until it stops working, and everything's floating in the air, and nothing makes sense.

And for the rest of your life—even if things get fixed later, even if the earth regains its gravitational pull and the world returns to "normal"—you will never again feel as certain as you once did, no matter how many things you see fall.

* * *

Owens sits in his squad car and he trusts what he sees. Because that's how it's supposed to work.

Beside him, Peterson only half stifles a belch. Salami breath, fragrant and thick.

In the back seat, Khouri too plays her role by shaking her ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Beyond the technology and crime at the forefront of this story, Mullen reminds readers of our metaphorical blind spots. When we're close to someone, do we overlook certain warning signs? Can we really see those closest to us most clearly? And, in our quest to be seen, are we overlooking things? While a lot of authors write suspenseful thrillers, Blind Spots stands above many for its intricate world-building and smartly crafted characters. The author resolves the main plot points in satisfying ways, but some elements aren't as nicely tied up. Even now, with the biggest mysteries solved, I keep thinking of the characters. If I had a vidder that would let me see into their futures, I would use it without hesitation...continued

Full Review Members Only (782 words)

(Reviewed by Erin Lyndal Martin).

Media Reviews

Booklist (starred review)
[Mullen] has outdone himself here: this is a tremendous crime-SF hybrid, a brilliantly conceived story impeccably told. A novel that will stay with you for a very long time.

Library Journal (starred review)
A gritty, dystopian story and an all too real and possible exploration of the dangers of continuous surveillance and the spread of disinformation.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
[An] excellent near-future mystery... Fans of P.D. James's Children of Men will be enthralled.

Kirkus Reviews
Grounded in the set pieces of police procedurals, this is both a whodunit and a cautionary tale about technology and government authoritarianism run amok. A lively, offbeat mystery with a thought-provoking premise

Author Blurb Ace Atkins
This terrific mix of noir and sci-fi delivers an exciting and cautionary crime novel of what may be our not-so-distant future.

Author Blurb Anthony Horowitz
It's rare to find a thriller with such a fantastic and original concept. I was gripped.

Author Blurb Charles Yu
An exciting page-turner that's also full of sharp writing and thought-provoking ideas. Mullen fuses science fiction and a detective story into a stylish and entertaining novel.

Author Blurb Jason Rekulak
Terrific... The world of this story is brimming with imagination and raises alarming questions about our own near-term future. Attention Black Mirror fans: This is your next book!

Reader Reviews

Shetreadssoftly

highly recommended crime novel set in a dystopian world
Blind Spots by Thomas Mullen is a highly recommended crime novel set in a dystopian world where everyone is blind but can see through a device. Seven years ago everyone in the world eventually went blind when the Blinding occurred. Technology came...   Read More
HOM RAJ KHADKA

Blind spots
Blind Spots is a crime novel by Thomas Mullen that was published in 2022. The novel is set in a world where everyone has gone blind, and it follows the story of homicide detective Mark Owens as he investigates a series of murders that seem to be ...   Read More
Arthur

Blind spots
Mildly interesting.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

New Advances in Treating Vision Loss

After a mysterious event that blinded the entire world population, the characters in Blind Spots use devices called vidders to see. In real life, many people are experiencing vision improvement through technology that might sound like something out of a science fiction novel. From smart glasses to implantable contact lenses, vision improvement technologies are proliferating for every need. Unfortunately, in the U.S., few of these options are covered by insurance and therefore are out of reach for many. (I have personally benefited from telling my doctor about my financial situation and having her advocate for me with the manufacturer of my own special lenses.)

The first eSight smart glasses were released in 2013, and the technology has ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Blind Spots, try these:

  • The Last Murder at the End of the World jacket

    The Last Murder at the End of the World

    by Stuart Turton

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the bestselling author of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and The Devil and the Dark Water comes an inventive, high-concept murder mystery: an ingenious puzzle, an extraordinary backdrop, and an audacious solution.

  • Big Time jacket

    Big Time

    by Ben H. Winters

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    In this "wild and wonderful" (Lou Berney) corporate espionage thriller that takes the adage "time is money" and makes it frighteningly so, an everywoman FDA employee stumbles upon a dark, clandestine conspiracy to harvest and sell people's time.

We have 7 read-alikes for Blind Spots, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Thomas Mullen
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.