Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews A Short Walk Through a Wide World by Douglas Westerbeke

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Short Walk Through a Wide World

A Novel

by Douglas Westerbeke

A Short Walk Through a Wide World by Douglas Westerbeke X
A Short Walk Through a Wide World by Douglas Westerbeke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Apr 2024, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A woman is compelled by a curse to travel the world in Douglas Westerbeke's imaginative, bittersweet debut.

From the very first page of A Short Walk Through a Wide World, debut novelist (and librarian!) Douglas Westerbeke draws readers into the story of Aubry Tourvel, a nine-year-old girl who is not an altogether sympathetic character. She's insolent, argumentative and seems to ride a fine line between being principled and being entitled. On the way home from school one day, she stumbles upon a mysterious wooden puzzle ball:

"She'd discovered it … lying on a dead man's front walk. … It sat silently on the front walk at the foot of the steps, as if it had rolled out the door all on its own. … [I]t rolled toward her just an inch or two. Aubry stood there and watched, a little amazed."

She nonchalantly kicks the puzzle ball aside, but it seems to find its way back to her, giving the object an irresistibly eerie, uneasy quality reminiscent of the ring ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Librarians-Turned-Novelists

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Short Walk Through a Wide World, try these:

  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue jacket

    The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

    by Victoria E. Schwab

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of the 2020 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab's genre-defying tour de force.

  • The Starless Sea jacket

    The Starless Sea

    by Erin Morgenstern

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world - a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Read-Alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.