Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Long Island by Colm Toibin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Long Island

Eilis Lacey Series #2

by Colm Toibin

Long Island by Colm Toibin X
Long Island by Colm Toibin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    May 2024, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Colm Tóibín continues the story of Brooklyn's Eilis Lacey as she returns to Ireland.

Readers last encountered Eilis Lacey in Colm Tóibín's best-known work, Brooklyn (2009). In Long Island, the author returns to his enigmatic heroine in 1976, twenty years after events in the earlier novel. Eilis is now in her 40s, and married with two teenagers. Her house is one of four in a Long Island cul-de-sac, the others populated by her husband's parents and his two brothers with their large families. She hasn't returned to Ireland since 1956, and her mother hasn't visited. Although Eilis finds the closeness of the extended family claustrophobic at times, she's content with her life, working as an accountant from her home office and caring for her husband and children.

All this changes one morning when a man Eilis has never met appears at her home. He claims his wife is pregnant with her husband's child, and when it is born he intends to deposit the child on Eilis's ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Fish and Chip Shops

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Long Island, try these:

  • Milkman jacket

    Milkman

    by Anna Burns

    Published 2018

    About this book

    Winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize, Milkman is a tale of gossip and hearsay, silence and deliberate deafness. It is the story of inaction with enormous consequences.

  • Tender jacket

    Tender

    by Belinda McKeon

    Published 2017

    About this book

    A searing novel about longing, intimacy and obsession from the award-winning author of Solace.

We have 5 read-alikes for Long Island, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Colm Toibin
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.