Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Big Time by Ben H. Winters

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Big Time

A Novel

by Ben H. Winters

Big Time by Ben H. Winters X
Big Time by Ben H. Winters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2024, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Callum McLaughlin
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The swift pacing and twists of a mystery combine with big ideas about the very nature of time in this speculative techno-thriller.

Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as philosophical as it is electrifying to read. Set in the near future, the novel follows the interwoven stories of three Maryland women. Allie has just escaped an attempted kidnapping. Awakening in the hospital with fragmented memories and a strange device implanted in her chest, she is adamant that someone is still after her, though she doesn't know why. Desiree is Allie's would-be assailant. She was hired to bring the target to her client and is determined to see the job through no matter the cost. Grace balances caring for her teenage child and aging mother with her work at the Center for Devices and Radiological Health. She is brought in after hours to look into the unusual model of portacath (see Beyond the Book) found inside Allie.

Grace's investigation sparks the unravelling of...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  What Is a Portacath?

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Big Time, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for Big Time, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Ben Winters
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.