Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews All Our Yesterdays by Joel H. Morris

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All Our Yesterdays

by Joel H. Morris

All Our Yesterdays by Joel H. Morris X
All Our Yesterdays by Joel H. Morris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2024, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Joel H. Morris's fascinating historical fiction debut speculates how Lady Macbeth became the evil queen depicted in Shakespeare's tragedy.

Joel H. Morris's debut novel, All Our Yesterdays, is a prequel to Shakespeare's famous tragedy Macbeth, beginning with "the Lady's" marriage to the warlord Macbeth and ending with her learning her husband has been declared Thane of Cawdor (which is where Shakespeare's play begins). The author brilliantly imagines this woman's eleventh-century life, restoring her voice and giving her purpose while vividly describing the world in which she lived.

The story is told from the point of view of two unnamed characters: the Lady (Lady Macbeth) and her ten-year-old son, referred to throughout the novel only as "the boy." It's an interesting approach; most of history, particularly medieval history, records only what adult men's lives were like. Morris instead chooses to concentrate on those who were generally dismissed as unimportant: the women and...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked All Our Yesterdays, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for All Our Yesterdays, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bitter Crop
    Bitter Crop
    by Paul Alexander
    In 1958, Billie Holiday began work on an ambitious album called Lady in Satin. Accompanied by a full...
  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.