We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews California Golden by Melanie Benjamin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

California Golden

A Novel

by Melanie Benjamin

California Golden by Melanie Benjamin X
California Golden by Melanie Benjamin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2023, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Aditi Upadhyaya
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A dramatic story of passion, glamour, and betrayal, California Golden brings to life the American surfer era of the 1960s through the entangled stories of two complicated and heartbroken sisters.

As in her other work, Melanie Benjamin brings her historical novel California Golden to life through vivid descriptions and sensational twists and turns. She narrates the story of sisters Mindy and Ginger, who, after being neglected by their surfer mother Carol, grow up to lead difficult and lonely lives. Although the sisters try hard to form a bond with their mother, she is occupied with the burdens of her own past. They eventually separate and choose very different paths in life. Through an unexpected journey littered with obstacles, Mindy and Ginger make their way toward what they need most — each other.

California Golden explores the themes of glamour, desire, motherhood, sisterhood, and what it meant to be a woman on the cusp of second-wave feminism. Mindy and Ginger grow up mostly without the help of their mother in the 1960s, as Carol's professional surfing career means ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked California Golden, try these:

  • The Women jacket

    The Women

    by Kristin Hannah

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From master storyteller Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Four Winds, comes the story of a turbulent, transformative era in America: the 1960s.

  • Ghost Girl, Banana jacket

    Ghost Girl, Banana

    by Wiz Wharton

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Set between the last years of the "Chinese Windrush" in 1966 and Hong Kong's Handover to China in 1997, a mysterious inheritance sees a young woman from London uncovering buried secrets in her late mother's homeland in this captivating, wry debut about family, identity, and the price of belonging.

We have 5 read-alikes for California Golden, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Melanie Benjamin
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.