We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews One Puzzling Afternoon by Emily Critchley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

One Puzzling Afternoon

A Novel

by Emily Critchley

One Puzzling Afternoon by Emily Critchley X
One Puzzling Afternoon by Emily Critchley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Oct 2023, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Valerie Morales
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


67 years ago, Edie Green's best friend Lucy Theddle disappeared and was never found. Despite an early-stage dementia diagnosis, Edie is determined to solve the mystery.

While British author Emily Critchley's graceful novel One Puzzling Afternoon is about cognitive deterioration, the story's beauty is in how it elegantly unpacks memory, friendship, and regret. It embraces the painful experience of dementia, its relentless ride through the grays of the world when colors have long ago disappeared.

Edie is in her eighties, has lived in Ludthorpe, England all her life, and has a "foggy brain." It's a struggle to remember day-to-day details and she resents her loss of independence. That a woman named Josie, hired by her family, comes to help with household chores is one more thing to bristle at, but Edie's reaction is layered. When she feels like herself, she knows the feeling won't last.

One day, during a bout of fogginess, she sees her teenage best friend Lucy standing in front of the post office exactly as she was in 1951. But seeing Lucy isn't ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Dementia: A Two-Person Illness

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked One Puzzling Afternoon, try these:

  • Glory Be jacket

    Glory Be

    by Danielle Arceneaux

    Published 2023

    About this book

    The first in a vivid and charming crime series set in the Louisiana bayou, introducing the hilariously uncensored amateur sleuth Glory Broussard. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman's Thursday Murder Club series.

  • Carolina Moonset jacket

    Carolina Moonset

    by Matt Goldman

    Published 2022

    About this book

    Both suspenseful and deeply moving, Carolina Moonset is an engrossing novel about family, memories both golden and terrible, and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden forever, from New York Times bestselling and Emmy Award–winning author, Matt Goldman.

We have 5 read-alikes for One Puzzling Afternoon, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.