Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Glory Be by Danielle Arceneaux

Glory Be

A Glory Broussard Mystery

by Danielle Arceneaux

Glory Be by Danielle Arceneaux X
Glory Be by Danielle Arceneaux
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 2023, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sara Fiore
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The first in a vivid and charming crime series set in the Louisiana bayou, introducing the hilariously uncensored amateur sleuth Glory Broussard. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman's Thursday Murder Club series.

It's a hot and sticky Sunday in Lafayette, Louisiana, and Glory has settled into her usual after-church routine, meeting gamblers at the local coffee shop, where she works as a small-time bookie. Sitting at her corner table, Glory hears that her best friend—a nun beloved by the community—has been found dead in her apartment.

When police declare the mysterious death a suicide, Glory is convinced that there must be more to the story. With her reluctant daughter—who has troubles of her own—in tow, Glory launches a shadow investigation into Lafayette's oil tycoons, church gossips, a rumored voodoo priestess, nosey neighbors, and longtime ne'er-do wells.

As a Black woman of a certain age who grew up in a segregated Louisiana, Glory is used to being minimized and overlooked. But she's determined to make her presence known as the case leads her deep into a web of intrigue she never realized Lafayette could harbor.

Danielle Arcenaux's riveting debut brings forth an unforgettable character that will charm and delight crime fans everywhere and leave them hungry for her next adventure.

1

Glory Broussard was tired of waiting. She figured this barista was new, and she would know since she was a regular at CC's Coffee House. With each drink order, he nodded and flipped through the pages of a thick manual, going back and forth betweenthe espresso machine and the book.

It didn't help that he was grinning like a goddamn fool at that white woman. She was wearing a pink ribbed tank top, and as far as Glory could tell, no bra. Her jean shorts were so scant that you could see the bottom curve of her ass. Glory had seen enough of this recently at the Acadiana Mall to know it was not an accident but a trend, and a disgraceful one at that. Wet hair crept down to her waist, making her look like a creature that had crawled out of the Atchafalaya swamp.

Glory edged up to the counter, closely behind the braless woman. "Excuse me," she said to the barista. "Are you the only one working behind the counter? Y'all should be better staffed for the afterchurch crowd."

"I'm not sure. I'm new ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Glory is a woman of contradictions, and it's those contradictions that make this such a refreshing read. Just as she begins to frustrate with her petty prejudices and cutting remarks, we are given a window into where her feelings of inadequacy and bitterness come from, and instead of getting angry, we find ourselves understanding her hurt. Arceneaux deftly reminds the reader of how her judgments were born, how someone so often brutally punched down by life and circumstances cannot help but want to punch back. Glory is used to having the worst thought of her because of her race and precarious economic situation. However, finding herself investigating a friend's murder provides a new way to channel that pent-up rage and lets her use the very conditions that cause her so much pain to find the killer. Being overlooked makes it that much easier to access places in which a more conspicuous detective would stand out. Her harmless "little old lady" exterior also lulls suspects into a false sense of security and makes them that much more likely to let vital clues slip...continued

Full Review Members Only (878 words)

(Reviewed by Sara Fiore).

Media Reviews

Washington Post
A remarkable debut novel that blends a character study with a tightly woven mystery that delves into dark corners of racism and corruption.

Sarah Weinman, New York Times Book Review
Glory Broussard, the star of Danielle Arceneaux's fabulous debut mystery differs from most of the other Black women in Lafayette, La. When Glory learns that her lifelong friend Amity has died, she's immediately suspicious. Glory is up for the challenge, and she is a character for the ages.

Vannessa Cronin, Amazon Books Senior Editor
I needed a palate cleanser, recently—you know, a book that's smart, funny, and just hooks you from first page to last. Glory Be was that title. Unfiltered, unstoppable, and unconvinced the police know what they're doing, Glory Broussard ropes her daughter Delphine into an off-the-books investigation ('like some kind of Black Murder She Wrote,' Delphine charges), overturning some pretty scary rocks in their bayou town. I can't wait for Glory's next adventure.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
A delightful debut...Arceneaux successfully avoids a mountain of cozy clichés—and works in potent critiques into her well-oiled plot. Readers will be eager to spend more time with Glory in future installments.

Author Blurb Harini Nagendra, author of The Bangalore Detective's Club
Glory Be is a hilarious and thrill-filled ride through the bayous of small-town Louisiana and is filled with rich descriptions of place and superb characterization. Glory Broussard grabs you by the collar and doesn't let go. I can't wait to find out what Glory and her daughter Delphine will get up to in their next set of adventures.

Reader Reviews

PhyllisE

Engaging and witty murder mystery
Thanks to Book Club Cookbook & Pegasus Crime for an advance reader's copy. All comments and opinions are my own. I couldn’t resist this gorgeous book cover teamed with the title, plus it’s a mystery! This debut went beyond my expectations. In ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

The Red Hat Society

Three members of the Red Hat Society of Victoria, British Columbia wearing formal purple clothes and red hats as they face one another "When I am an old woman I shall wear purple / With a red hat which doesn't go, and doesn't suit me." These opening lines to the poem "Warning" by Jenny Joseph serve as inspiration (and uniform) for Glory Broussard, protagonist of Danielle Arceneaux's Glory Be, and for real-life members of the Red Hat Society, an international social organization for women "of a certain age" that began in 1998. Its founder, California artist Sue Ellen Cooper, was hunting for the perfect birthday present for a friend when she discovered a beautiful red hat in a thrift store. Wanting to encourage her friend to embrace later life with a sense of fun, she presented it along with Joseph's poem, and before long other friends and their friends and their friends...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Glory Be, try these:

  • One Puzzling Afternoon jacket

    One Puzzling Afternoon

    by Emily Critchley

    Published 2023

    About this book

    A mystery she can't remember. A friend she can't forget.

  • Suburban Dicks jacket

    Suburban Dicks

    by Fabian Nicieza

    Published 2022

    About this book

    From the cocreator of Deadpool comes a hilariously entertaining debut featuring two unlikely and unforgettable amateur sleuths. An engrossing and entertaining murder mystery full of skewering social commentary, Suburban Dicks examines the racial tensions exposed in a New Jersey suburb after the murder of a gas station attendant.

We have 4 read-alikes for Glory Be, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

There is no science without fancy and no art without fact

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.