We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Unsettled by Ayana Mathis

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Unsettled

A Novel

by Ayana Mathis

The Unsettled by Ayana Mathis X
The Unsettled by Ayana Mathis
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Sep 2023, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Valerie Morales
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set in the 1980s, the story of a mother-daughter estrangement and the consequences that ensue.

Eleven years after The Twelve Tribes of Hattie became a global sensation, Ayana Mathis offers another domestic portrait. The Unsettled, set in the 1980s, is about a multi-generational black family who are estranged from one another and carry the painful freight of the past.

The story opens in an uncomfortable place. Ava Carson and her ten-year-old son Toussaint are forced to find residence in a Philadelphia homeless shelter after Ava's violent husband Abemi Reed kicks her out of the house. Shaken and feeling betrayed, Ava gropes through her new life while suffering from headaches, depression, and despair. The shelter's feeble attempts at normalcy fill her with distaste and contempt. They are a reminder of her mother, who she blames for her hardships.

Hundreds of miles away, Dutchess lives on a rutted red dirt road, fighting off developers from the Progress Corp who want her land, ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Unsettled, try these:

  • Demon Copperhead jacket

    Demon Copperhead

    by Barbara Kingsolver

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Unsheltered and Flight Behavior, a brilliant novel which enthralls, compels, and captures the heart as it evokes a young hero's unforgettable journey to maturity.

  • Perish jacket

    Perish

    by LaToya Watkins

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From a stunning new voice, comes a powerful debut novel, Perish, about a Black Texan family, exploring the effects of inherited trauma and intergenerational violence as the family comes together to say goodbye to their matriarch on her deathbed.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Unsettled, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Ayana Mathis
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.