We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Portable Magic by Emma Smith

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Portable Magic

A History of Books and Their Readers

by Emma Smith

Portable Magic by Emma Smith X
Portable Magic by Emma Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Nov 2022, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tasneem Pocketwala
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Amusing, informative and reverential, Portable Magic is an invitation to dwell on and celebrate the book in its physical form, resulting in nothing short of a reader's delight.

Portable Magic begins with an alluring narration of the fairy tale "The Master and His Pupil," a story featuring a book with the power to summon demons. Pointing out that "It's the book that summons the demons, not its clumsy reader," author Emma Smith lays out her central argument: "the book itself, as much as its contents,…has agency."

Maintaining a razor-sharp focus on the materiality of the book — more precisely, the "undersung inseparability of book form and book content," which she terms "bookhood" — Smith explores familiar as well as new topics and themes. She brings scholarly vigor to issues around the reading, publication and usage of books and sets them in geographical, temporal and historical contexts. All this is done with a conversational levity that is both beguiling and surprising: I did not expect to be laughing out loud at this book.

Each of the 16 chapters is complete in itself, with its own idea, argument and structural integrity. Smith situates each main idea in a bookish anecdote, then brings in interesting twists and turns of events with journalistic flair. In the chapter "Christmas, gift books and abolition," she charts out the particular journey of the Christmas book in Europe from banal gift to a means of disseminating pro-abolitionist content. In another chapter, she narrates the familiar story of Gutenberg's printing press endeavor with awe and wonder, reverentially but also entertainingly. You can almost imagine her speaking to a hushed and rapt audience.

Portable Magic covers a wide range of topics, though some among these have been overdone by others. To Smith's credit, even when the book-related subject is familiar to the point of triteness, such as the question of what makes a classic, she still either presents an entirely fresh perspective on it, or includes a thoughtful and insightful aspect that might make you think of it in a different way altogether. While writing about the phenomenon of the Nazi book burnings in the chapter "May 10, 1933: burning books," Smith steers towards the inherent reproducibility and replaceability of books, and thereby the impossibility of "burning" them away. Then she frames the issue in a more practical, realistic sense: It is the fate of most books to be "destroyed" — that is, pulped. With modern printing and the foreverness of the internet, books can't really be done away with, which seems to be the ideological pursuit of those that advocate burning supposedly offensive books, even today. If books are gotten rid of, it is usually for reasons far more mundane, like it no longer being profitable for the publisher to keep them in print.

Portable Magic is quite Eurocentric, and as an Indian, I found parts of it tedious and dry to read, such as the details about the Christmas gift book tradition, or how the Armed Services Editions — paperback books distributed to American troops during World War II — played a part in winning the war, although I can't blame the writer for this. In addition, certain anecdotes and chapter hooks are rather complicated to follow.

Nevertheless, most of Smith's ideas and themes make for moving stories. Portable Magic sets books and bookish people in significant historical contexts, plucking them out of dusty offices and gloomy library rooms and reclusive reading spots. Ultimately, Portable Magic is so well-written that you'll be itching to mark up multiple lines; and so well-researched that you'll marvel first at there already being such a wide range of books written about books, and then at the writer's impressive knowledge of them.

Reviewed by Tasneem Pocketwala

This review first ran in the November 2, 2022 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Portable Magic, try these:

  • High Bias jacket

    High Bias

    by Marc Masters

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Marc Masters explores the history of the cassette tape from its invention in the early 1960s to today.

  • The Dictionary of Lost Words jacket

    The Dictionary of Lost Words

    by Pip Williams

    Published 2022

    About this book

    In this remarkable debut based on actual events, as a team of male scholars compiles the first Oxford English Dictionary, the daughter of one of them decides to collect the "objectionable" words they omit.

We have 5 read-alikes for Portable Magic, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.