BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Skinship by Yoon Choi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Skinship by Yoon Choi

Skinship

by Yoon Choi
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Aug 17, 2021
  • Paperback:
  • Apr 2022
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In Skinship, Yoon Choi focuses on small moments and then places them in the multiplicity and complexity of the Korean American experience.

The fine thing about short stories in general is their way of following characters through significant moments or events of change. It's a little like shadowing someone's life for a while and witnessing through it something striking about life itself. But what Yoon Choi offers in her stellar debut is an in-depth, all-in, no-boundaries sort of visit into her characters' whole, rich existences.

Skinship is a collection of eight short stories that showcases the multiplicity and complexity of the Korean American experience. The stories present a sweeping view of Yoon's characters, so though we're with them for only a few pages, the depth of the flashbacks and backstories are so illuminating, it feels as if she's giving us unlimited access to them.

Choi's stories are built up on small moments, constructed upon a frame of tiny potent instances that she tends to with careful, laborious detail. In "A Map of the Simplified World," a young child's crucial moment of change occurs when she slightly betrays her friend. That moment doesn't come out of context; it is borne of the progression of many other small moments of development, of a person's subtle becoming.

Choi slips into the tone, voice and perspective of each of the varied protagonists in her stories. In "The Art of Losing," the most poignant of the lot, the point of view flits between husband Mo-sae, who has Alzheimer's, and wife Young-ja, brilliantly conveying the disorientation of the one and the harried resilience of the other. Meanwhile, the story presents a glimpse of the characters themselves and what their marriage has been like. During Christmas, when Mo-sae peels himself out of the choir and starts singing in the middle of the stage with the tenor soloist, Young-ja feels that in this spectacle "her private miseries had become manifest." The present instance of embarrassment has roots in the past.

In many of the stories there is a sense of melancholic reverence for the past. Not for the things that are long gone, but for the fact that they happened, that they played their part and left an impression forever. "First Language" is the story of an arranged marriage into which wife Sae-ri comes loaded with half-disclosed facts from her previous life in Korea. Knowing a little English, she begins to use language as a way to lead a secret life. At one point she says, "It is very easy to lie in the language that is not your first language." But language also alienates her from her Korean kin, who have only known her (and she them) in Korean.

Then there is the titular story, "Skinship," that tackles the difficult subject of troubled homes and describes in minute detail how a person from such a home develops. It looks in from the perspective of So-hyun, a 13-year-old Korean girl who goes to America with her mother and brother to escape her abusive father. The ending that Choi gives us feels unreal and almost implausible, something even our narrator admits. And yet it is powerful. In less capable hands this story would fall apart, but in Choi's, it feels deftly held together.

There are stories that are weaker comparatively, such as the last two, which leave the reader more confused than struck. But even with these, Choi feels in control; they are still tight and well crafted, giving a sense that the author has firmly kept the reins to herself, and desires the reader to trust her with them. When you do, you're promised a dip into a world of complex characters and emotions, interesting intersections of differing experiences, and narratives with something of the "Yes, but" quality that the writer J. G. Ballard suggests every good short story must have.

Reviewed by Tasneem Pocketwala

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2021, and has been updated for the May 2022 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Skinship in Korean Culture

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Skinship, try these:

  • The World Keeps Ending, and the World Goes On jacket

    The World Keeps Ending, and the World Goes On

    by Franny Choi

    Published 2023

    About This book

    From acclaimed poet Franny Choi comes a poetry collection for the ends of worlds—past, present, and future. Choi's third book features poems about historical and impending apocalypses, alongside musings on our responsibilities to each other and visions for our collective survival.

  • Spider Love Song and Other Stories jacket

    Spider Love Song and Other Stories

    by Nancy Au

    Published 2019

    About This book

    Nancy Au's debut collection is rich with scents, sounds, imaginative leaps, and unexpected angles of vision.

We have 4 read-alikes for Skinship, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.
Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.