Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Leave the World Behind by Rumaan Alam

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Leave the World Behind

by Rumaan Alam

Leave the World Behind by Rumaan Alam X
Leave the World Behind by Rumaan Alam
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2020, 256 pages

    Paperback:
    Nov 2021, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Callum McLaughlin
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Asking critical questions about trust, family and power, Leave the World Behind is a master class in delayed tension, as two families seek to overcome their differences and survive what may be the end of days.

Amanda, Clay and their two teenage children have rented a remote vacation home in Long Island to escape the stresses of daily life. In the dead of night, the spell is broken by a knock at the door. It heralds the arrival of Ruth and G.H., an older Black couple who claim to own the property. They explain that New York has been hit by a blackout and that something strange is going on in the city, so they've returned to Long Island seeking shelter. Amanda and Clay warily let them in, though they have no WiFi, phone or TV signal to corroborate the couple's story. As events take ever stranger turns, they will all be pushed to consider the fragile nature of safety and togetherness.

The opening chapters establish Amanda, Clay and their children as a typical middle-class, white American family, as eager to maintain their carefully curated image as they are prone to casual racism. It's clear they are not bad people, and we sympathize with them later in the narrative, but it does well to highlight just how ingrained society's prejudices surrounding race and class have become.

The arrival of Ruth and G.H. forces them to confront these biases within themselves. Amanda and Clay's initial play for dominance and mistrust of the homeowners is rooted in harmful stereotypes and their misguided belief that a Black couple could never afford to own such a beautiful home. With the threat of the outside world closing in, however, what once seemed like fundamental differences soon fade into insignificance. Here, author Rumaan Alam shows that the need for unity in times of crisis can allow our shared humanity to triumph over any disparity in our supposed social standing.

Perfectly paced and punctuated by striking imagery throughout, Alam creates a singular atmosphere that is as discomfiting as the plot itself. Tense and anxiety-inducing, even the quietest moments simmer with an undercurrent of threat. Third-person omniscient narration shifts among the principal characters — with a greater focus on Amanda and Clay — and also offers the reader occasional glimpses of the chaos unfolding back in the city. These snippets are never enough to confirm precisely what is going on, but they serve to ramp up the stakes by emphasizing just how isolated and in the dark the protagonists are.

By positioning his characters on the periphery of disaster in this way, Alam is able to tap into the paranoia, denial, speculation and even the enduring boredom of domesticity that remain when society is on the brink of crumbling. It also makes clear that the point of the novel is not to try and understand "what's going on," but rather to observe the various ways each character responds to fear itself. Be it nuclear, extra-terrestrial or otherwise, the threat is not important; what matters is seeing which bonds are forged and which are broken, what differences they are willing to overcome, and just how brave they are prepared to be when those they love — and those they do not know — are in danger.

One of the book's most successful themes is its look at our reliance on connectivity. In an age when unlimited information is constantly at our fingertips, lacking control and being truly cut off has arguably become one of humanity's greatest fears. Clay and Amanda — representative of America's everyman and everywoman — romanticize the notion of "unplugging" for the week, but when the thin veil of safety is broken, little causes more panic than their inability to contact civilization to find out what awaits beyond the trees that surround their temporary sanctuary.

If there is one element likely to divide readers, it is the novel's abrupt and ambiguous ending. Though some might be frustrated by a lack of closure, this deliberate creative decision perfectly mirrors the characters' situation and the book's core themes, leaving us pained by our own lack of information.

With its pertinent social commentary and many possible interpretations, Leave the World Behind is precisely the kind of novel that is difficult to discuss without dissecting its plot (and thus resorting to spoilers). However, it begs to be debated, making it an ideal book club pick you'll be urging everyone to read. By tapping into the heightened stress of modern life — the reality of constantly existing on the edge of disaster, and being forced to question how you would respond should society be under threat — the novel is prescient and undeniably relevant to the present moment.

Reviewed by Callum McLaughlin

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2020, and has been updated for the January 2022 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  When Dystopia Meets Mystery

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Leave the World Behind, try these:

  • Prophet Song jacket

    Prophet Song

    by Paul Lynch

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    Exhilarating, terrifying and surprisingly intimate, Prophet Song offers a shocking vision of a country at war and a deeply human portrait of a mother's fight to hold her family together.

  • 2 A.M. in Little America jacket

    2 A.M. in Little America

    by Ken Kalfus

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    From "an important writer in every sense" (David Foster Wallace), a novel that imagines a future in which sweeping civil conflict has forced America's young people to flee its borders, into an unwelcoming world.

We have 7 read-alikes for Leave the World Behind, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Rumaan Alam
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.