BookBrowse Reviews A Dredging in Swann by Tim Garvin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Dredging in Swann

The Seb Creek Mysteries #1

by Tim Garvin

A Dredging in Swann by Tim Garvin X
A Dredging in Swann by Tim Garvin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 2020, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Mark Anthony Ayling
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Tim Garvin's A Dredging in Swann is an impressively staged crime novel set in North Carolina.

A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-box Sheriff's Detective Seb Creek, a former Marine MP afflicted with post-traumatic stress disorder resulting from time served overseas.

At the commencement of the novel, Seb is tasked with investigating the suspicious death of Leo Sackler, an elderly black man in his seventies who was recently released from prison after 48 years served for the brutal axe-murder of a wealthy local white man.

Elsewhere in Swann County, another veteran, Cody Cooper, engages in the federal crime of poaching Venus flytraps. While out poaching one evening, he witnesses a tragic accident involving two military helicopters that crash into each other while returning to base. He stumbles upon three Stinger missiles, dropped from one of the helicopters immediately prior to the accident. Seeing an opportunity...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.