BookBrowse Reviews Feast Your Eyes by Myla Goldberg

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Feast Your Eyes

by Myla Goldberg

Feast Your Eyes by Myla Goldberg X
Feast Your Eyes by Myla Goldberg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2019, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 18, 2020, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A uniquely structured story about a controversial photographer trying to balance being a mother and an artist.

Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional photographer Lillian Preston. As the plot progresses, however, it becomes clear it's about so much more, exploring the challenges of being an artist and a mother from the mid-1950s to mid-1970s, an era that saw the shifting of societal norms and illustrating the risks one may have to take to pursue individual and artistic freedom.

The book is laid out in the form of a catalogue created for a posthumous showing of 118 of Preston's best pictures at New York's Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), with the description of each piece written by her daughter Samantha and supplemented by sections from Lillian's journal and interviews with her friends. Readers discover early on that her work was controversial; one photo in particular, titled "Mommy Is Sick", shows Lillian in bed, bleeding after having had an ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.