BookBrowse Reviews Trust Exercise by Susan Choi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Trust Exercise

A Novel

by Susan Choi

Trust Exercise by Susan Choi X
Trust Exercise by Susan Choi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Apr 2019, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Meara Conner
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A wildly inventive, surprising portrait of the inner lives of teenagers enrolled in a competitive arts school.

At face value, Susan Choi's latest release, Trust Exercise, appears to be a familiar story. Narratives centering around teens fighting it out to see who will be deemed the most talented have existed in the entertainment lexicon for decades (Fame, Glee, even High School Musical). However, it's telling that this is a story rarely encountered in a literary form, and even more rare that it's an adult author choosing to tell it. This combination creates a novel that both moves past the "teen drama" and simultaneously revels in it.

Trust Exercise primarily follows Sarah and David, two teens attending a prestigious performing arts high school who fall in love. Their romance quickly becomes a maelstrom of emotion that involves everyone who comes in contact with it and particularly draws the notice of their demanding, charismatic acting teaching, Mr. Kingsley. However, as the novel continues ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Reading the #metoo Movement

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.