BookBrowse Reviews The Heavens by Sandra Newman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Heavens

by Sandra Newman

The Heavens by Sandra Newman X
The Heavens by Sandra Newman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2019, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 19, 2019, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Art, storytelling, dreams, and fate are all intertwined in this beautifully written novel about the choices we make and the consequences they inspire, about the self and society.

I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice Cream Star. I've recommended this novel – in which the rapid devolution of language serves as a marker for the decline of civilization in a post-apocalyptic society – to many people. Now I'm even more pleased to be able to recommend Newman's latest novel, The Heavens, which is just as beautifully written and thought-provoking and is also likely to attract even more readers via its somewhat more accessible style.

The Heavens begins in the year 2000 in New York City, where two young people – Ben and Kate – have just met at a sprawling party hosted by a "rich girl," Sabine, whom neither of them knows particularly well. The two of them hit it off and start a relationship, even though Sabine cryptically warns off Ben, saying "Kate doesn't live in the real world." Ben...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Time-Slip Novels

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.