BookBrowse Reviews The Heavens by Sandra Newman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Heavens

by Sandra Newman

The Heavens by Sandra Newman X
The Heavens by Sandra Newman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2019, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 19, 2019, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Art, storytelling, dreams, and fate are all intertwined in this beautifully written novel about the choices we make and the consequences they inspire, about the self and society.

I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice Cream Star. I've recommended this novel – in which the rapid devolution of language serves as a marker for the decline of civilization in a post-apocalyptic society – to many people. Now I'm even more pleased to be able to recommend Newman's latest novel, The Heavens, which is just as beautifully written and thought-provoking and is also likely to attract even more readers via its somewhat more accessible style.

The Heavens begins in the year 2000 in New York City, where two young people – Ben and Kate – have just met at a sprawling party hosted by a "rich girl," Sabine, whom neither of them knows particularly well. The two of them hit it off and start a relationship, even though Sabine cryptically warns off Ben, saying "Kate doesn't live in the real world." Ben...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Time-Slip Novels

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.