BookBrowse Reviews The Far Field by Madhuri Vijay

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Far Field

by Madhuri Vijay

The Far Field by Madhuri  Vijay X
The Far Field by Madhuri  Vijay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2019, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2019, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Lewis
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In her highly-anticipated debut novel, Pushcart Prize-winning author Madhuri Vijay presents a meditation on grief and shifting identity set in Kashmir.

This substantial, character-driven debut novel invites readers to travel to places beyond roads. Its adventurous coming-of-age story follows first-person narrator Shalini on a quest to escape grief and to excavate family secrets, navigating between privilege and poverty, knowledge and self-doubt. Madhuri Vijay's prose is lyrical, descriptive and seasoned with terms from the Indian subcontinent, a region alive with diverse religious, cultural and linguistic currents.

"The shops were open now, some owned by Muslims, others by Hindus who had lit sticks of incense in front of tinseled portraits of Lakshmi. The ground was littered with fruit rinds, plastic cups, pellets of goat shit, and runnels of brown water."

At age 8, Shalini witnessed something spark between her mother and a visiting Kashmiri sari salesman, Bashir Ahmed. Bashir was more than a salesman, he was a gifted ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  India: A Feast of Languages

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.