MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews How the Internet Happened by Brian McCullough

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

How the Internet Happened

From Netscape to the iPhone

by Brian McCullough

How the Internet Happened by Brian McCullough X
How the Internet Happened by Brian McCullough
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Oct 2018, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Chris Fredrick
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In this expansive history, Brian McCullough narrates the democratization of the Internet, from Netscape to Google to Facebook, providing a look at the individuals behind the technology.

Histories of the Internet often start with the origin story of ARPANET – a Cold-War era communications project – and then proceed to the technology changes that followed. However, in Brian McCullough's How the Internet Happened: From Netscape to the iPhone, technology doesn't take center stage. McCullough says, "This is not a history of the Internet itself, but rather, a history of the Internet Era...when computers and technology itself stopped being esoteric and started becoming vital and indispensable." McCullough doesn't spend time on nodes and protocols. Instead, he tells the human side of the Internet story, the blind rush toward the next big thing and the rapid successes and failures along the way.

The opening chapter focuses on what McCullough terms "The Big Bang" that ignited the Internet era – the launch of the startup Netscape, and with it one of the earliest web browsers. "Netscape would not define the Internet Era – or even survive it – but it was the first of its kind, and in many ways it was the template for all the people and companies that would follow." In this chapter, we see the origins of the web browser through Netscape visionary Marc Andreessen. We follow Andreessen as he codes Mosaic, the first widely used web browser, with fellow students on the University of Illinois campus. Andreessen is "built large, at six feet two, with a loud, excitable personality," and despite being just a part-time student programmer, "he had an anti-authoritarian, independent streak that his peers came to appreciate." While Andreessen recognized the potential for the web, the computer science community at the time seemed to be putting effort into making the programs difficult to use, "to keep the riff-raff out." Andreesen wanted just the opposite. He wanted the web "to look as sexy as it felt to people like him...[he] wanted to add pictures."

The book jacket describes the book as "rollicking," and it certainly is fun to read. At various points I found myself remembering "where I was when," whether I was using AltaVista, installing a freebie AOL CD on my dad's PC, or otherwise experiencing this shared history. The book is chronological; each chapter has an arc in its own niche, and the chapters overlay and weave together, giving a holistic sense of the tumultuous change that was everywhere at once. The chapters connect well, too, despite being somewhat standalone narratives. Chapter 1 concludes with Marc Andreessen taking a jab at Bill Gates and Microsoft in an InfoWorld interview, while Chapter 2 is all about the rise of Microsoft's competing browser, Internet Explorer.

Each chapter features individuals or small groups of visionaries, startups or investors. After the advent of the web browser, there are chapters on America Online (AOL), early web advertising, Yahoo, Amazon, and the race to get really big, really fast. McCullough moves us through the "Dot-Com Era" and the "Dot-Com Bubble," showing the steps, missteps and drama as the bubble burst. The second half of the book covers the aftermath of the burst, known as the "Nuclear Winter," then moves on to Google, Napster, iTunes and Neflix. This period would come to be known as Web 2.0, and it was defined by more active user participation – such as blogging, uploading videos to YouTube or editing Wikipedia – as opposed to merely "surfing." In the final chapters he tells the story of social technology, featuring Facebook, and the rise of mobile with Palm, Blackberry and the iPhone.

Steve Jobs of Apple, Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook, Larry Page of Google and Marc Andreessen of Netscape are all featured prominently, as they should be. But many other figures are given dimension in McCullough's telling as well. One is Peter Thiel, who founded PayPal and went on to become the first major investor in Facebook. Another is Sean Parker, whom McCullough describes as someone who "virtually embodied the web's zeitgeist." He enters the story as the business mind behind Napster and reemerges later as a mentor to Mark Zuckerberg and an early board member of what was then named "Thefacebook."

McCullough describes the Internet era as being "about great technologies and disruptions and entrepreneurs." Through his lens, though, it also feels like a larger force was at play – as though after the seismic disruption he calls the Big Bang, everyone scrambled but no one knew what would be around the next corner. Perfect timing as well as innovation and savvy business decisions were required. Of course, in addition to those who managed to make all the right moves, there were many other product concepts and startups that we've never heard of, and others who believed they had more control over their destiny (and market share) than they really did. Interestingly, when Larry Page and fellow inventor Sergey Brin approached Yahoo and other search engines to license their new PageRank algorithm – the breakthrough math behind Google – no one was interested.

The ability of everyday people to access the web through web browsers like Mosaic and Netscape Navigator in the early nineties represented a profound change, opening wide the possibility of a reordered world. From there, a riveting and fast-paced story of innovation and high stakes investment unfolds. This well-researched and well-curated history provides just the right amount of detail to keep the reader engaged and connected to the stories of those most closely involved, showing the various ways their ideas shaped our experience of the Internet.

Reviewed by Chris Fredrick

This review is from the November 14, 2018 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Lady Clementine
    by Marie Benedict

    An illuminating look at one of history's most unusual and extraordinary women, Clementine Churchill.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.