BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Three Things About Elsie by Joanna Cannon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Three Things About Elsie by Joanna Cannon

Three Things About Elsie

by Joanna Cannon
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • Aug 7, 2018
  • Paperback:
  • Jul 2019
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Three Things About Elsie is a cozy-style mystery that takes a wry look at aging, life-long friendships, and the cost of keeping secrets.

The novel opens with the primary narrator, Florence, prone on the floor after a fall. She is in her apartment at Cherry Tree Retirement Community waiting to be discovered and rescued. She is not panicked, or even seriously concerned. Instead, she becomes reflective, narrating how she came to be in this predicament. Her patient wait for assistance is woven through the story with periodic updates on her physical and emotional status as she shares her life story, working backwards. Although the set-up is potentially dire, Florence's acerbic wit and charm keep the narrative from becoming maudlin.

The novel's main strength lies in its character development. Florence is a compelling and intriguing woman who has lived a fascinating life. Front and center with Florence is her life-long best friend Elsie, whose opinions and interpretations of events provide a counterbalance to the protagonist's. In the spirit of the title, here are Three Things About Florence.

  1. Florence is confused.

    Strange things are happening at the usually peaceful Cherry Tree Retirement Center. Florence's elephant figurine is moved on the mantelpiece. Items go missing. Her lost book turns up in the refrigerator. She discovers a ridiculous surplus of her favorite treat in the cupboard. Someone is trying to make it look like she's losing her marbles, and it's working. As she becomes increasingly agitated in response to these strange occurrences, Ms. Ambrose, the center's assistant director, informs her she is on a one-month probation period. If her confusion continues, she may be forced to transfer to Greenbriar, the more restrictive convalescent home.

    Florence suspects the new enigmatic resident, Gabriel Price, is to blame for the strange events. She can't explain it, but she is certain he is really Ronnie Butler, a man she and Elsie knew long ago, someone who has good reason to seek revenge. As Florence recalls their shared history, it becomes difficult to know if her confusion is due to the onset of dementia or if she's truly being manipulated.

  2. She has a band of allies.

    In the retirement community, Florence is surrounded by a strong supporting cast. Although she is the primary narrator, the author provides brief interludes from the perspective of Simon, the simple but heart-of-gold handyman, and the perpetually flustered Ms. Ambrose. Their views allow the reader an outside perspective on Florence's troubles. Although Florence is feisty and opinionated, she's also perceptive and caring, and clearly loved by those around her, even if they are doubting her state of mind.

    "General" Jack, a retired military officer is a loyal friend to Florence. He is charming and gallant and a willing (and abetting) participant in her various escapades. Most importantly, Jack believes Florence's suspicions about the man known as Gabriel, and his son is willing to take the two of them out of the retirement center so they can search for clues. The friendship between Florence and Jack is one of my favorite aspects of this story.

  3. She has secrets.

    Although Florence is determined to solve the mystery surrounding Gabriel Price, the reader is engaged in an additional mystery: What is Florence hiding? Is she an unreliable narrator intentionally withholding information, or is she not mentally sound? Her own comments on her mental state further muddy the waters: "There were times when the present felt so unimportant, so unnecessary. Just somewhere I had to dip into from time to time."

    The more we learn about Florence (and Elsie's) relationship with Ronnie Butler, the more secrets we discover. The result is a story with layers of mystery, with some solutions more obvious than others. Although this allowed for plot twists and surprises, the complicated nature of her secrets felt unnecessarily convoluted at times.

Three Things About Elsie is a satisfying cozy mystery (See Beyond the Book) featuring a charming cast of characters in a setting not often represented in literature. In addition to its escapades and revelations, this story is sprinkled with bits of philosophical wisdom and humor centered around aging. Cannon's thoughts on nostalgia and memory are particularly insightful: "Perhaps the most important moments of all turn out to be the ones we walk through without thinking, the ones we mark down as just another day."

Reviewed by Sarah Tomp

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in August 2018, and has been updated for the August 2019 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Cozy Mysteries

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Three Things About Elsie, try these:

We have 6 read-alikes for Three Things About Elsie, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Joanna Cannon
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Information is the currency of democracy

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.