BookBrowse Reviews Treeborne by Caleb Johnson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Treeborne

by Caleb Johnson

Treeborne by Caleb Johnson X
Treeborne by Caleb Johnson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2018, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2019, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Dean Muscat
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Caleb Johnson's debut is a family saga steeped in the Southern Gothic tradition of a rustic people rooted, for better or worse, to the wild land they call home.

The Treeborne family has lived on The Seven – the local sobriquet for a seven-acre stretch of forested Elberta, Alabama land - for nigh on eighty years. However, with the nearby Hernando de Soto dam soon expected to give way and flood the surrounding area, an elderly Janie Treeborne is being threatened with eviction from this patch of the world her bloodline has claimed their own. And she is refusing to leave. As Janie tells her grandson, who is interviewing her about the family history, "me and this place is just too tangled up."

Janie recounts how back in 1958, as a girl of 13, she discovered that her MawMaw, Maybelle, left her own two sons, Luther and Ren (Janie's father), with little more than five dollars apiece in her last will and testament. Janie's aunt Tammy however, suspiciously inherits the entire family land and aims to sell off The Seven and use the money to ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Drive-In Theaters

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.