BookBrowse Reviews Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Piecing Me Together

by Renee Watson

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson X
Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2017, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 5, 2018, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Bradley Sides

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A timely story that tackles race and class, and examines the power of art, community and friendship.

Race and class in American culture certainly dominate the news right now. These two things seem to divide people more than anything else. But it doesn't have to be this way, and literature can teach us this. Renee Watson's exquisite Young Adult novel Piecing Me Together restores faith into those who believe in humanity's inherent goodness – and those who believe in unity and opportunity among all races and classes.

Jade, a high school junior, is the protagonist of this story set in Portland, Oregon, and she's willing to do whatever it takes to achieve her dreams – even if that means leaving her home behind. She admits, "The universe was telling me that in order for me to make something of this life, I'd have to leave home, my neighborhood, my friends." And she does. Jade accepts a scholarship to a predominantly white school because she sees this move as...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Benefits of Mentorships

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.