BookBrowse Reviews The Hearts of Men by Nickolas Butler

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hearts of Men

A Novel

by Nickolas Butler

The Hearts of Men by Nickolas Butler X
The Hearts of Men by Nickolas Butler
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2017, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2017, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Gary Presley

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An epic novel of intertwining friendships and families set in the Northwoods of Wisconsin at a beloved Boy Scout summer camp.

Set mostly in the woodlands of north Wisconsin, Nikolas Butler spins a familial saga that explores the making of men and the meaning of manhood in his affecting novel The Hearts of Men.

The 1962 summer that young Nelson Doughty spends at Camp Chippewa will form his life. Nelson intends to work toward his Eagle rank, but there's only a little to be done to reach that goal. Worse, Nelson's inept at sports, and he's more introvert than companionable. His one friend is Wilbur Whiteside, but, to make Nelson further outcast, Wilbur's the adult who runs the camp. Sensing Nelson's discomfort, Wilbur persuades him to play reveille each morning, a task Wilbur believes will give him discipline and a certain measure of respect. In fact, the duty may work to make Nelson's "desire for perfection" something useful rather than an obsession. That summer is the opening ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Boy Scouts of America

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.