Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

To Capture What We Cannot Keep

by Beatrice Colin

To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin X
To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2016, 304 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2017, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Davida Chazan
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young Scottish widow and a French engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love.

To Capture What We Cannot Keep is a fascinating historical fiction novel set against the backdrop of the construction of the Eiffel Tower. There, one of Gustav Eiffel's chief engineers and architects for the tower, Émile Nouguier, becomes involved with Mrs. Caitriona (Cait) Wallace. Cait is a young widow, employed as the chaperone for Alice and Jamie, the niece and nephew of the renowned Scottish engineer William Arrol, while they are abroad.

Boiled down to its barest parts, this book borders on the romance genre. In fact, all the main characters seem to get involved in one relationship or another (or after another, as the case may be). There's no shortage of intrigues and scandals and secrets, as well as a few scenes taking place in the bedroom. However, Beatrice Colin carefully skirts around all of this, and remains safely within the literary, historical fiction genre through several methods.

First, she's done enough research into both Nouguier and Arrol to make her fictional choices of the gaps in their biographies plausible. We know that Nouguier was single and that he worked closely with Eiffel on the tower; we know that William Arrol had no children of his own, and left most of his company and fortune to his nieces and nephews. We also know that two such well-known engineers would have known about each other, and certainly, they were all familiar with Eiffel himself. All of this makes it reasonable to accept that Arrol would agree for Jamie to apprentice with Nouguier on the Tower. Then there is the fictional Cait, a woman whose husband died in the collapse of Arrol's Tay Bridge, which puts her in contact with Arrol himself who, out of guilt, decides to give her some kind of employment, while indulging two of his younger family members. All of this makes sense, and lays the groundwork for the romance and intrigue to come.

Another way Colin firmly stays within the literary, historical genre is through the building of the Eiffel Tower itself. By employing the building process as the timeline for the story, and using the real personalities involved, she disburses, throughout the story, some of the real dilemmas and obstacles this project faced, along with interesting pieces of information about the construction. For example, she talks about the enormity of work that went into preparing all of the pieces that made up this historic structure. In addition, the anxious day when the first cross-platform was lowered into place is beautifully described. This piece of construction connected the four leaning legs of the structure, thereby stabilizing the whole tower. Colin's imagination seems to be extremely accurate in terms of the precision that was required to achieve this feat. It is reasonable to assume that Nouguier was worried about that day professionally, so adding some personal apprehension along with it only added to the drama.

The balance of the combination of all these essential elements enriches the story, which succeeds most of the time. The extra bonus is how gently Colin writes her prose, which I found to be sophisticated without being bombastic. Poetic interludes, describing the scenery and settings, work well without sounding clichéd. Colin's use of language also fits with the era she writes about, and helps contribute to the overall atmosphere of the book.

With all this praise, it might seem like this novel should be getting a full five stars. Unfortunately, I can't give it that because I felt To Capture What We Cannot Keep doesn't build dramatically enough towards the climax, making the action leading to the conclusion and the aftermath feel slightly flat. Aside from this, I believe Colin does a laudable job with believable characters, a compelling plot, and an excellent mixture of fact and fiction.

Reviewed by Davida Chazan

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2017, and has been updated for the November 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Gustav Eiffel's Legacy

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked To Capture What We Cannot Keep, try these:

  • The Painted Girls jacket

    The Painted Girls

    by Cathy Marie Buchanan

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural, and societal change, The Painted Girls is a tale of two remarkable sisters rendered uniquely vulnerable to the darker impulses of "civilized society." In the end, each will come to realize that her salvation, if not survival, lies with the other

  • The Swan Thieves jacket

    The Swan Thieves

    by Elizabeth Kostova

    Published 2010

    About this book

    More by this author

    Kostova's masterful new novel travels from American cities to the coast of Normandy, from the late 19th century to the late 20th, from young love to last love. The Swan Thieves is a story of obsession, history's losses, and the power of art to preserve human hope.

We have 5 read-alikes for To Capture What We Cannot Keep, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Beatrice Colin
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.